Questions about assembling my 1st tower

Status
Not open for further replies.

DylanMadigan

I'm fairly new to the radio community, I've been operating a GMRS repeater for a couple years now on push up antennas, but I want to finally go for a close to 50ft tower (as that's my legal limit in this area). Also my push up tower with guy wires just got overloaded with like an inch and a half of ice on everything, including the guys, and died (still looking into the cable's integrity but its all under ice now).

I was looking at some self supporting towers and found one at a price I can handle. I've looked up videos on people throwing together similar towers, and i read the spec sheet on a few, but I still have a couple questions and I'm looking for any advise anyone might have on how to do this properly, safely, and effectively. I've never been involved with this type of tower before.

This is the tower I'm looking at: https://www.dxengineering.com/parts/tbx-thdbx48

I'm looking at the "Extra heavy duty" because we do get hurricanes and ice and ice hurricanes, and I figured why not go with the strongest thing I can afford. I will also also be ordering the 48" concrete anchors and the steps that are for this model tower. I will cement it to the ground as recommended in the tower catalog. I'm going to make my own climb sheilds as i really think theirs are overpriced considering I can take some decent sheet metal and bolt it on.

My questions are, is it safe to climb the tower (with safety equipment) the full 48ft without any sort of guy wires? I've seen a few videos of guys climbing these things without guy wires but I don't think those are this exact model, but they look like a "free standing" tower.

And would it be a good idea for me to put a set or two of guy wires on it anyway to avoid issues with wind or ice building up on one side? Or would ice building up on those just cause more of an issue or something?

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø