• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Quik Call II Tone assessment question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MFDHoward

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2011
Messages
64
CPS under the HT1250 gives you the option of:

A-B
A-B/A-C
A-B/C-B
A-B/A-D/C-D
A-B/C-D


My tones are:

850 715

Another is:

1984.6 671.7 (Slightly off due to coding option but they still alert the pager)


Is my tones option?:

A-B
 
Last edited:

58006

NY DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
205
Location
Washington County, NY
CPS under the HT1250 gives you the option of:

A-B
A-B/A-C
A-B/C-B
A-B/A-D/C-D
A-B/C-D


My tones are:

850 715

Another is:

1984.6 671.7 (Slightly off due to coding option but they still alert the pager)


Is my tones option?:

A-B
If you are putting all four tones in under the same personality, you would use A-B/C-D because you do not share a common tone.

If you are using the tones on different personalities, then you would use A-B and make two different QC-II Systems.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,562
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
What do you enter for a real long A tone only?
Is this all on one personality? I don't see an option that allows A-B/C-D/Long E in one line.

Is the single tone the same as one of the tones in the A-B or C-D pairs?

Unfortunately, the Pro Series doesn't have the 8 different tone pairs and 4 different long tones capability seen in the Minitor V so there may be some combinations that you won't be able to do on the HT1250.
 

ffemt134

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
89
I've never understood this myself----why do certain companies (namely Motorola and Kenwood) still limit tone choices in a modern radio to A-B/A-C, etc.? I could understand years ago when actual tone reeds were in use for Minitor 2's, etc., but I see no reason to today. I had an Icom F43 that let you have 8 completely individual tone sets and it was one of the few I could actually accomplish putting in all that I needed to.



Is this all on one personality? I don't see an option that allows A-B/C-D/Long E in one line.

Is the single tone the same as one of the tones in the A-B or C-D pairs?

Unfortunately, the Pro Series doesn't have the 8 different tone pairs and 4 different long tones capability seen in the Minitor V so there may be some combinations that you won't be able to do on the HT1250.
 

58006

NY DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
205
Location
Washington County, NY
I've never understood this myself----why do certain companies (namely Motorola and Kenwood) still limit tone choices in a modern radio to A-B/A-C, etc.? I could understand years ago when actual tone reeds were in use for Minitor 2's, etc., but I see no reason to today. I had an Icom F43 that let you have 8 completely individual tone sets and it was one of the few I could actually accomplish putting in all that I needed to.

Because it is Motorola and it has to be difficult!!!
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,629
Location
Sonoma, CA
The timing sequence of 1 second and 3 seconds was established for the mechanical tone reeds to give them time to lock on and then be long enough to prevent falsing. Modern tone decoders can pick out a tone in a couple of cycles (we're talking milliseconds).

With the computing power of the latest radios, they should be able to respond to any tone code sent to them. The only limiting factor is programming space (highly unlikely now-a-days) or just plain marketing stink.

The HT/CDMs do what they do and that's all she wrote.
 

CommJunkie

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
901
Location
FM19xr
Motorola wants you to buy a Minitor, so your options in their radios for tone decoding are limited.

Icom doesn't make a tone pager that I know of, so they aren't worried about losing money on another product, so they'll make their radios able to do more with tone decoding.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top