radio scanner recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomehaj

Hi,

I am new to radio scanners. Could you please tell me is there on the market a radio scanner which can pick all the frequencies from 1 Hz to 40 GHz? If not, which radio scanner do you recommend, which can pick the most frequencies in the radio spectrum? It can be a desktop scanner but I would prefer a handheld radio scanner.

thanks.

Tom

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
You won't find a scanner that will cover that much spectrum.
Even a high end spectrum analyzer will start at about 100KHz, but they are one frequency at a time and will cost in the tens of thousands of dollars.

Once you get above the 1.2GHz amateur radio band, the emissions used are digital and either so wide band or so complex and encrypted that consumer grade gear isn't going to do you any good.

Probably an easier and cheaper way to do this is to focus on a HF receiver that will cover the low frequency stuff up to about 30MHz and then a consumer scanner that'll cover from 30MHz on up.

As for individual radios that will do this, I'll leave that to others that have more experience with the consumer side of things. It would help if you established a working budget for this. It is difficult to answer a question like yours without knowing how much money you are willing to spend.

tomehaj

Radio scanner recommendatiop

Hi mmckenna,

Thnx for your reply, I better start low, so I was thinking about spending 1000 $ for a start.

Tom

You won't find a scanner that will cover that much spectrum.
Even a high end spectrum analyzer will start at about 100KHz, but they are one frequency at a time and will cost in the tens of thousands of dollars.

Once you get above the 1.2GHz amateur radio band, the emissions used are digital and either so wide band or so complex and encrypted that consumer grade gear isn't going to do you any good.