Radio Shack Pro-163 Help/Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crypto_Sailor

Premium Subscriber
Hello I'm new to the world of police scanners and recently acquired a RS Pro-163 scanner and have been trying to listen to police,fire,emt etc...I purchased ARC300 software for this scanner and a subscription to radio reference in order to download the scanner frequencies for my area (Virginia Beach, VA and a few surrounding areas. I've downloaded what I think are the correct/updated frequencies and got them loaded into the scanner with the RS USB scanner/pc interface cable Cat No.20-047.

Even with that said I can't hear anything police,fire,emt etc. I can hear NOAA weather and amateur radio off in a far distance.

Is the ARC300 software dummy proof or shall I have this scanner sent off for programming? Or bite the bullet and purchase a digital trunking scanner?

V/r
Brian

jhal94

Premium Subscriber
First we need to know a few things:

What area are you scanning? (this will tell us what type of system you need to program)
What antenna are you using?
What are your surroundings? (Are you in a building, on a mountain, in an elevator, etc.....)

Also maybe you should dowload a trial of Win97 here: Software for RadioShack PRO-series (PRO-92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 99, 163, 164, 106, 197) and GRE PSR-series (PSR-500, 600, 300, 400, 310, 410) scanners it might be easier to use....