Railroad Frequencies Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

KE0FKH

Hey All!

I am very new to the railroad scanner monitoring. I have a few quick questions about this so maybe I can get some help!

I live in Central Iowa where Union Pacific is pretty much the only locomotives run on our tracks. I looked on the railroad frequencies page and found many, upon many railroad frequencies that are used for Union Pacific as well as some others.

I did a few scans on some of the frequencies but I'm not quite sure what each channel is used for. Does anyone have a list of frequencies and their uses? I don't know where to start with them, so any advise is welcome!

Also, the AAR frequencies, can anyone give some light on what they are used for?

I appreciate it!
73' KE0FKH

kma371

QRT
From looking at the the Iowa UP freqs, it appears most are "Road" channels that are used for track operations between two specific points (located in the description).

AAR just means American Association of Railroads. I don't see any listed like that in Iowa, but if you are looking at a national page, AAR just allocates each frequency a channel number. For example AAR01 is 160.650 or whatever.

imbruski

Depending on where you are in Central Iowa, Union Pacific Mason city and Trenton Subdivisions are the north/south lines. Boone and Clinton Subdivisions are the east/west lines.

N9JIG

Sheriff
Find the "Road" channel for your area. That has the traffic from the train to the dispatcher and train to train as well as the lineside detectors and discussions with maintenance crews.

The subdivision names are as follows:
Boone (Missouri Valley to Boone)
Clinton (Boone to Clinton)
Mason City (Des Moines to Mason City)
Tara (Grand Jct. to Mallard)
Fort Dodge (Somers to Belmond)
Jewell (W. Ames to Burt)
Laurens (Albert City to Rolfe)
Oskaloosa (Bridgeport to Marshalltown)
Perry (Des Moines area switching)
Rake (Esherville to Bricelyn
Estherville (Estherville to Goldfield)