Railroad Monitoring with an Icom IC-F3261DT vs Uniden BCD396T

Status
Not open for further replies.

TechTwo

I have recently purchased an Icom F3261DT with 4.6.6 RR firmware on eBay.
I also purchased the correct Programming Software, CS3260/5060D RR v4.6.6, the OPC-1862 cloning cable and the FA-SC63V Hi-Gain railroad band antenna.

After a pretty steep learning curve with the software, I have the radio pretty well setup to monitor the local railroads, eastern Pennsylvania mostly.
As I plan future train watching adventures, I will add the local railroads, for the locations.

On this radio, I have everything set to TX INHIBIT.

I am still not totally certain of the SCANing abilities as this is something I am still learning. Software documentation is sadly lacking.

Anyway I used to use the BCD396T to listen to the railroads and also the Montgomery County trunked radio system, before they went to APCO 25 Phase II.

I was never really happy with the BCD396T for listening to the railroads, it never seemed to be able to pickup distant transmissions. Nearby railroad employee's radios were always receiving transmissions so much better. I got a magnetic mount VHF-High band 5/8-wave antenna tuned to the railroad band and that improved things pretty well while in the truck.

I am having two major issues with the BCD396T. One with the radio on AAR 050, 160.860MHZ, which is NS Road Channel 3 in my area, sometimes the radio will break the squelch and just produce static, sometimes for hours, if I raise the squelch enough to cut off the noise then I cannot pick up any transmissions. Also if I am close to a transmitter, say a defect detector, the audio gets quiet and it sounds like being in a tunnel. I am assuming the first issue is a Selectivity issue and the second issue is an signal overloading issue. These are much worse with the external antenna.

Is this normal for a BCD396T, or is it in need of repairs?