• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Raspberry Pi Broadcastify Image

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#1
Is Raspberry Pi Broadcastify Image recommended when using a handheld scanner and Raspberry Pi 3B+ , or just Raspian? Which will be easiest for somewhat of a linux rookie? The install would be for a Pi3B+
 
Last edited:

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#3

DC31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,049
Location
Massachusetts
#6
The steps are quite simple once you have your raspberry pi booted up. Install darkice: sudo apt install darkice. Create the configuration file: sudo nano /etc/darkice.cfg. Then paste in the configuration and your credentials and the device to stream from (hw:1,0 or plughw:1,0 or whatever).

Type darkice at the command line and it runs. Ignore the stuff about POSIX scheduling and recording skips.
 

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#7
my setup has a number one included which i assume is fine. here is example: nano /etc/darkice1.cfg
when i simply type darkice on the command line, it says "command not found"
which leads me to believe darkice is not properly installed? i need to start my confirming all of my settings/config
 

DC31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,049
Location
Massachusetts
#8
Yes, command not found indicates that darkice did not install properly. Starting from a clean image, install darkice : sudo apt install darkice

Then type darkice at the command line. Even without a configuration file you should see it attempt to start.
 

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#10
i did fresh install today with raspbian. i am following these instructions: https://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Raspberry_Pi_Broadcastify_Build (using raspbian)
i feel i am getting closer to success, yet darkice seems to be my problem. am i doing something wrong with "darkice" vs "darkice1" ?
attached is a screenshot. thank you for any assistance you can offer.
 

Attachments

DC31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,049
Location
Massachusetts
#11
i did fresh install today with raspbian. i am following these instructions: https://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Raspberry_Pi_Broadcastify_Build (using raspbian)
i feel i am getting closer to success, yet darkice seems to be my problem. am i doing something wrong with "darkice" vs "darkice1" ?
attached is a screenshot. thank you for any assistance you can offer.
Okay, you are real close. When you type darkice at the command prompt it returns something like this:

pi@station-pi:~ $ darkice
DarkIce 1.3 live audio streamer, Google Code Archive - Long-term storage for Google Code Project Hosting.
Copyright (c) 2000-2007, Tyrell Hungary, Tyrell Hungary Corporation
Copyright (c) 2008-2013, Akos Maroy and Rafael Diniz
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under the terms of The GNU General Public License version 3 or
any later version.

Using config file: /etc/darkice.cfg


That indicates that darkice is attempting to start so you have darkice installed properly. Your problem appears to be that when started by simply typing darkice the program looks for the configuration file at /etc/darkice.cfg by default. You have your configuration file at /etc/darkice1.cfg so it can't find it. You can either rename you configuration file or use the command darkice -c /etc/darkice1.cfg which will tell the program to look at your file.

Here is what a successful launch of darkice looks like using the default configuration file:

pi@station-pi:~ $ darkice
DarkIce 1.3 live audio streamer, Google Code Archive - Long-term storage for Google Code Project Hosting.
Copyright (c) 2000-2007, Tyrell Hungary, Tyrell Hungary Corporation
Copyright (c) 2008-2013, Akos Maroy and Rafael Diniz
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under the terms of The GNU General Public License version 3 or
any later version.

Using config file: /etc/darkice.cfg
Using ALSA DSP input device: default
Using POSIX real-time scheduling, priority 4


Then when you close your terminal window darkice will stop streaming. Cross that bridge when you get there. Get darkice streaming first.
 

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#12
Thank you. until i learn the MV command, i typed the command you mentioned and attempted to start darkice. i feel sure i am doing something incorrectly. the attached pic shows my results. im guessing the path of least resistance would be renaming the config file when i actually lern how to do that.
 

Attachments

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#14
mine is now looking better. the very last line does not have the word "priority 4." here is what i have.

Using config file: /etc/darkice1.cfg
Using ALSA DSP input device: plughw:1,0
Could not set POSIX real-time scheduling, this may cause recording skips.
Try to run darkice as the super-user.
DarkIce: TcpSocket.cpp:226: gethostbyname error [0]
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo darkice -c /etc/darkice1.cfg
DarkIce 1.0 live audio streamer, Google Code Archive - Long-term storage for Google Code Project Hosting.
Copyright (c) 2000-2007, Tyrell Hungary, Tyrell Hungary Corporation
Copyright (c) 2008-2010, Akos Maroy and Rafael Diniz
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under the terms of The GNU General Public License version 3 or
any later version.

Using config file: /etc/darkice1.cfg
Using ALSA DSP input device: plughw:1,0
Using POSIX real-time scheduling, priority 98
DarkIce: TcpSocket.cpp:226: gethostbyname error [0]
 

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#16
thank you, it was an added character in the server line. i feel like i just had progress. i entered: darkice -c /etc/darkice1.cfg
after that i entered:
service darkice1 start

the seems to be a LAME error, or maybe this is normal. pic attached. thank you for assisting me.
 

Attachments

DC31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,049
Location
Massachusetts
#17
Stop trying to use service darkice1 start. It is only screwing things up.

The unerlying sink error may mean that you are trying to feed to bcfy at a port that is already in use. Do you have your feed running from another computer somewhere? If so, you need to shut that one down before connecting this one.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
531
Location
Central, NC
#18
I'm very new to Linux, but when I start my feed I enter "sudo service darkice1 start." I have no idea if that has anything to do with the problem the OP is having, but I'll just throw that out there.
 

trauts14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
211
#19
i do not have any other feeds running. i tried port 80, 8080, and 8000. i get this error message with all of them:


pi@raspberrypi:~ $ darkice -c /etc/darkice1.cfg
DarkIce 1.0 live audio streamer, Google Code Archive - Long-term storage for Google Code Project Hosting.
Copyright (c) 2000-2007, Tyrell Hungary, Tyrell Hungary Corporation
Copyright (c) 2008-2010, Akos Maroy and Rafael Diniz
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under the terms of The GNU General Public License version 3 or
any later version.

Using config file: /etc/darkice1.cfg
Using ALSA DSP input device: plughw:1,0
Could not set POSIX real-time scheduling, this may cause recording skips.
Try to run darkice as the super-user.
DarkIce: LameLibEncoder.cpp:75: lame lib opening underlying sink error [0]
pi@raspberrypi:~ $
 

DC31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
1,049
Location
Massachusetts
#20
From the darkice FAQ page:


DarkIce Frequenty Asked Questions
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
Q: I get the following error:
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
DarkIce: LameLibEncoder.cpp:75: lame lib opening underlying sink error [0]
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
What am I doing wrong?
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
A: This error means (quite anti-intuitively), that darkice coulnd't connect
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
to the streaming server. Please double-check the following values in
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
your config file:
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
- server
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
- port
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
- password
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
If you're streaming to a shoutcast server, make sure that the port
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
you use is the _source_ port, which is usually 1 above the _client_
[COLOR=rgba(27, 31, 35, 0.298039)][/COLOR]
port for shoutcast (the defaults are 8000 for client, 8001 for source).[/COLOR]


Can you copy the server, port, and mount point lines from your cfg file and post here? No need for the password.

We are running darkice manually rather than as a service to see the error messages. Once we get them cleared up we will proceed from there.
 
Top