• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

RCS South site reband programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

K6CDO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
1,048
Location
San Diego, CA
#22
Rescue_pooh, Give it a couple of days before you give up. We're chasing some gremlins in the system firmware (upgrading 25+year old computers is such a joy). I'll update the thread when the cell is completely retuned.
 

nhse

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 20, 2010
Messages
31
Location
Solana Beach, ca
#23
Let me update my own question. The new control channels are now posted on the radio reference frequency page in red and blue for the south zone. The east zone from the coast indicates they are on the old frequencies. Not sure when they will switch to the new rebanded frequencies as well as when they will switch the north zone. Does anyone have a firm date for the switches?
 
Joined
May 21, 2017
Messages
13
Location
Ramona,Ca
#24
Well for some reason I can't get freescan to work on my BCD325P2 using windows 10, So I thought I would try programming as standard system by hand and it seems to be working ok, So here's the ? does it have to be programmed a custom system or not because as I said it's working as a standard 800/900 system on my BCD325P2.Thanks folks for the info
 

K6CDO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
1,048
Location
San Diego, CA
#25
Let me update my own question. The new control channels are now posted on the radio reference frequency page in red and blue for the south zone. The east zone from the coast indicates they are on the old frequencies. Not sure when they will switch to the new rebanded frequencies as well as when they will switch the north zone. Does anyone have a firm date for the switches?
Scheduled for Tuesday 3/20 and Wednesday 3/21.
 
Joined
May 17, 2004
Messages
109
Location
SD County, CA
#26
I have reprogrammed all of my radios (325P2, 996P2, 996XT) using the information in the first post, and they ALL seem to be working fine.
 

K6CDO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
1,048
Location
San Diego, CA
#30
I see there is a northeast zone with several frequencies, anyone know what this covers and if it’s active?
The NorthEast Simulcast cell covers the mountains & valleys along the 79 corridor north of Santa Ysabel to the County Line (Warner Springs, Los Coyotes, Chihuahua Valley) and the Palomar Mountain area. For discussion purposes, it is considered to be part of the "East" coverage area.
 
Joined
May 21, 2017
Messages
13
Location
Ramona,Ca
#31
Well for some reason I can't get freescan to work on my BCD325P2 using windows 10, So I thought I would try programming as standard system by hand and it seems to be working ok, So here's the ? does it have to be programmed a custom system or not because as I said it's working as a standard 800/900 system on my BCD325P2.Thanks folks for the info
anybody have input on this. Thanks again folks and sorry to be a pest about this
 

Anderegg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,525
Location
San Diego
#32
I changed my custom bandplan to standard 800 on my 996XT test scanner, both types seem to work without issue. I was assuming that the custom bandplan would allow the bandplan to operate on the prerebanded splinter plan as well as the full on rebanded system, which it did. Now that there is no longer splinter trunking going on, you should be fine just using standard bandplan. It may also be possible that the custom bandplan figures are actually what the standard bandplan contains.

Paul
 

celbaseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
81
Location
Poway, CA
#34
I was able to use Standard for the NE and S rebanded Simulcast systems, but when I configured for the East Simulcast I had to include the rebanding information provided by Anderegg.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
1
Location
San Diego, California
#35
Uniden BCD436HP, RCS South

Hey everyone, I'm in a deep pickle. As I heard on this and other forums, RCS South is finished rebanding. I have a Uniden BCD436HP. I have updated the firmware and Sentinel with the latest versions but still do not pick up RCS South. (National City, Chula Vista, SD Sheriff (Lemon Grove/Spring Valley). It was to my understanding that all I needed was to update firmware and Sentinel. I'm not to tech savvy and any help getting me back up running would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
2
#36
Hello all

I have a Uniden 396T with updated firmware and have tried the steps to reband the RCS South on my scanner so I can hear CVPD...sheriff etc. I have put in the info provided using freescan but still not working. When I scan I can see it saying finding control channel...what could I be doing wrong? I uploaded what I have inputed hopefully that helps. Thanks


Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

Anderegg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,525
Location
San Diego
#38
Looks correct to me, our 996T's accepted and work with that programming. You can delete the 866-868 control channels, the current working control channel is 853.4125...maybe set it to Motorola 800 Standard Type II with only 853.4125 as control channel, that seems to work now that rebanding has completed.

Paul
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
2
#39
I switched to the standard 800 II and its working now. Thanks for responding. Glad to have my channels back. :)

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

Anderegg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,525
Location
San Diego
#40
Hey everyone, I'm in a deep pickle. As I heard on this and other forums, RCS South is finished rebanding. I have a Uniden BCD436HP. I have updated the firmware and Sentinel with the latest versions but still do not pick up RCS South. (National City, Chula Vista, SD Sheriff (Lemon Grove/Spring Valley). It was to my understanding that all I needed was to update firmware and Sentinel. I'm not to tech savvy and any help getting me back up running would be appreciated.
If the SOUTH RCS system is in a favorites, access that in the menu, and change the bandplan from 800 splinter to standard 800 Type II. Change the control channels from the 866-868 ones, to the new 853ish ones in the first post. That should do the trick.

Paul
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top