Receive BW of Ringo Ranger ARX-2B

Status
Not open for further replies.

CSXRiverline

Hi;
I am about to put up a Ringo Ranger ARX-2B.
Since I am a licensed Amateur, I would like to be able to use this antenna on two meters, as it was designed, but at the same time I want good reception for the railroad band, as I really enjoy listening to trains on CSX River Line from Jersey City NJ to Selkirk NY.

My question then; If I tune the antenna for 146.520Mhz to get the best VSWR, and operation on the ham band, what can I expect for receive up at 160Mhz?

The manufacturer (Laird / Cushcraft) does not provide any receive BW specs, just that BW for VSWR 1.5:1 is >3Mhz.

I guess I really don't have all that much of a choice, because I don't want to transmit at 146Mhz into a badly untuned antenna, but I may have to make a decision as to which operation is more important to me; the 2m ham band, or railroad scanning.

My radio is the Yaesu Vertex VX-150, a 2m only with 200 channels and 5W output on 2m.
It has an excellent receiver, even at 160Mhz.

Thanks

FW

n5ims

You should do OK using that ant for receive for the RR band. While a tuned antenna would perform better than one not tuned for that frequency, you shouldn't notice too much difference in actual practice. The Ringo Ranger is (or at least used to be when I used it a long time ago) pretty wide band for receive. I used to use it to receive communications near 157 MHz back when I had one up.

My current antenna is a ham dual bander (146/440) base ant that I regularly pick up signals from 25+ miles away on both the VHF & UHF commercial frequencies.

Fast1eddie

I've got a older 270B and do not notice a difference on either band. If you can minimize your number of RF connectors/adapters, you'll keep line losses low.

CSXRiverline

Thanks for the encouragement guys;
I got very discouraging replies over in another ham forum.