• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCD536HP: Receiving issue.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
413
Location
Ingramport NS, Canada
#1
First off, if this question has been answer, sorry.
I've notice last couple of days that 536 doesn't seem to be receiving properly. I only seem to be picking stations within a mile of the scanner. At first though it was an antenna issue. But same problem on several different antennas, stationary and mobile. The 996xt is picking up the normal signals on all the same antennas.
I'm suspecting it might be the BNC connector on the scanner, wondering if anyone else has had this issue with the 536?
 

shglad

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
25
#7
I am having the same problem. Started two weeks ago. 436, 996XT all work great off of same antenna and coax. Location control is "off" and all service types enabled.
 

ecfc127

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
9
#8
Having the same problem with my 536, stopped receiving all freq. including weather channels. changed sd card and antenna. About two weeks now.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
550
Location
Clark County Nevada
#9
Did you re-format the SD Card?
Load Full data base, all services on, enter zip, range 0, Set scan selection, select lists to monitor, full data base on.
I would try this and see what happens.
 

kmi8dy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
334
Location
ARIZONA and MICHIGAN
#10
the same thing happened with my 6 or 7 month old 996p2. to make a long story short, the antenna connection inside the case was loose at the antenna bulkhead adapter. i resoldered the connection and everyhing works good. do not do this if you have no electronic repair experence !
 

ecfc127

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
9
#11
@gonefishn1- re-format old card, yes to all options as you described. Replaced the sd card with new. re-formatted and programed, changed antennas, still nothing. I have both HP1/HP2 that are picking up channels loud and clear.

The 536 was working ok a week or so ago. It's not even picking up the National Weather Service channels which I normally receive in fine.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
413
Location
Ingramport NS, Canada
#14
Thanks for the replies.
Question, anyone one know if this has been a problem with 536?
Though I saw mention of it in another thread that there was a problem with the BNC connector.
 

kc2kth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2004
Messages
397
Location
Toms River NJ
#15
Definitely sounds like a sensitivity issue but to not overlook the obvious, this isn't something goofy like squelch, a new piece of electronics gear recently installed causing some interference, or some thing else environmental? Any chance you can throw the 536 in your car and see how it works a few miles away?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top