Recording with a laptop and Vista, wtf?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RedPenguin

Alright, I've been recording my scanners for about 2 months or so now, but basically with Windows 2k/XP.

But I wish to use my Compaq Presario F739WM laptop with Vista Home Premium.

I obviously can only use Mic In, since there is no Line In.

Here's the annoying part.

I went to Recording Devices and made sure Mic was selected and the volume was around halfway.

I can't seem to find a way to unmute Line In for Playback to just hear the scanner, like 2k/XP used to let you do.

Audacity seems to record though with some annoying noise that I don't seem to get on other systems with the same scanner/audio cable.

Though VOX-type recorders like XCorder/Vox2File don't seem to sense any audio.

I think it's because Audacity shows how there seems to be a constant noise going on even when nothing at all is being received and the scanner (BR330T) is only at volume 5.

blueangel-eric

Feed Provider
Alright, I've been recording my scanners for about 2 months or so now, but basically with Windows 2k/XP.

But I wish to use my Compaq Presario F739WM laptop with Vista Home Premium.

I obviously can only use Mic In, since there is no Line In.

Here's the annoying part.

I went to Recording Devices and made sure Mic was selected and the volume was around halfway.

I can't seem to find a way to unmute Line In for Playback to just hear the scanner, like 2k/XP used to let you do.

Audacity seems to record though with some annoying noise that I don't seem to get on other systems with the same scanner/audio cable.

Though VOX-type recorders like XCorder/Vox2File don't seem to sense any audio.

I think it's because Audacity shows how there seems to be a constant noise going on even when nothing at all is being received and the scanner (BR330T) is only at volume 5.