Repeaters

Status
Not open for further replies.

MDM88

Quick question,

I am new to HAM radio (studying for license currently) and I was doing some research on local repeaters in my area (North Idaho, Boundary County), I see some listed repeaters but no "tone in" "tone out" values, how does one key into a repeater when there is no tone listed?

Forgive me for the newbie question...

Thanks,
Mark

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
Quick question,

I am new to HAM radio (studying for license currently) and I was doing some research on local repeaters in my area (North Idaho, Boundary County), I see some listed repeaters but no "tone in" "tone out" values, how does one key into a repeater when there is no tone listed?

Thanks,
Mark

Hi Mark,

If there is no tone listed, it could be that the repeater does not have a tone protecting the repeater. In which a case, transmitting a carrier on the repeater with out a tone would activate the repeater.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

N5TWB

Quick question,

Thanks,
Mark
Hi Mark,

If there is no tone listed, it could be that the repeater does not have a tone protecting the repeater. In which a case, transmitting a carrier on the repeater with out a tone would activate the repeater.

The technical name for operating an open repeater with no tone-code is COS - Carrier Operated Squelch, meaning exactly as stated in the answer above that any carrier on that frequency will be repeated. The technical name for using a tone code to open a repeater is CTCSS - Continuous Tone Coded Squelch System. Motorola gave it a trade name of Private Line and that's why the codes are called PL codes today.

Most repeater coordinating bodies really prefer that repeater owners use CTCSS. In more remote areas, as I assume the panhandle of Idaho is, coordinating organizations might be a little more open-minded. In areas with large numbers of repeaters, you will be required to use tone codes in order to get a coordinated repeater pair.

MDM88

Hi Mark,