Replacement antenna suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

slvco

I am new to scanners, the BCD536HP being my first. I'm former LEO, and we switched to a digital trunking before I retired. I'd like to be able to pick up those signals, as well as any local military, airport and other dispatch and first responder departments who aren't using trunking systems. I'm not sure about the frequencies, uhf/vhf, etc., and only know the connection type. I'd ideally like two antenna, one for using the scanner in my vehicle, and one for using it in my home, a very remote mountain valley area without great service for the trunking systems. Might anyone have suggestions? I went to take pictures of the fall foliage yesterday, and scanner (unsecured accidentally) dropped while the antenna was connected/extended and snapped off between the rear seat cushions.

Separately, do you know a part number or thread size for those screws that hold the scanner in the bracket?

Thank you. Location, if it matters for LEO/EMS/Fire I'd like to pick up is San Luis Valley/81101/Colorado area.

K4EET

Chaplain
I am not positive, but are the folks you want to listen to in Alamosa County on the State of Colorado DTRS Trunking System? See:

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=329

about a third of the way down the page and you should see this:

Alamosa_Talkgroups.jpg

If that is correct, you'll need to program the State of Colorado DTRS Trunking System into your scanner.

Let me know if I'm in the right ballpark. :)

Cheers! Dave

K4EET

Chaplain

slvco

Hi, and thanks for both answers.