Replacing loading coil and whip of D3000?

DanWho9999

I have not had a lot of luck tuning the lower frequencies (like CB radio) on my D3000. Would replacing the loading coil and whip with a different brand even work?

I have had an easier time tuning my mobile CB antenna when I switched to one with an adjustable coil versus one that looked like the coil on the D3000.

Made me wonder If I could swap out the D3000 coil with any success.

related question...

Can you even use the D3000 for a CB radio? I recall seeing a comment that you would damage your CB on a different thread.

I'm sure both of these questions point out how unfamiliar I am with any of this, but I'm just starting out...

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
If the coil/whip was tuned for CB, you'd be partway there.
The other half of the challenge is having a ground plane, which the discone really doesn't provide.

If CB is where you want to work, you'd be much better off with an actual CB base antenna.

DanWho9999

I figured the actual CB antenna would be better, but I'm trying to conserve a bit of space.

The Diamond D3000 is in the attic and I ran LMR-400 up to there from my basement. (works great from about 100MHZ up)

The D3000 is mainly for a scanner, but I saw a CB on sale and figured why not...

Really don't have room for another cable and I'm in a basement.

trying to keep everything inside the house because I'm in one of those HOAs that are difficult.

Even driving around, I didn't hear much on the CB other than 6 and 11 when I was using the magnetic mount antenna on my car...starting to question if the CB is worth it :)

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
A pair of diplexers would allow you to run a CB and a scanner over the same coaxial cable, but finding a suitable diplexer might be a challenge,

Fairly easy to make a simple CB wire antenna that you could fit in your attic.