• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

RS HTX-202 13.2 V Battery

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
205
#1
Hi. If anyone here is familiar with the radio shack htx-202 could tell me, should i get a 13.2 v battery pack for it. i heard about and ERROR 2 display with a 13.2V battery???? Could someone help me???
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
301
Location
Athens, Ga
#2
Easy fix

According to direction, a simple reset funtion can be preformed. It takes about four fingers and co-operation of both hands and feet, but it can be done. If you want it, I can find the reset intructions, but it won't be long before you'll need a memory-backup, Lithium battery.
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
#3
BillQuinn said:
Should i get a 13.2 v battery pack for it?
From what I have seen, the stock 7.2v battery will give 2.5 watts output and the AA pack will give 4 watts (with 9v) so you can see that the 12v & 13.2v packs will give even more power from the battery.

This place sells many batteries for the 202 at several voltages.
http://www.batteriesamerica.com/radio_shack.htm


BillQuinn said:
I heard about and ERROR 2 display with a 13.2V battery.

ER2:pLL UNLOCK ERROR

Er2 indicates the transceiver's PPL section has unlocked. Have the
transceiver repaired by an authorized Radio Shack service center.


This radio is likely to get an ERR2 when running off a cigarette lighter.
This is due to RF feedback which travels from radio to rubber duck to
power cord and back to radio. The best way to fix the ERR2 is to use an external antenna.

You can download a PDF of the manual here...
http://download.qrz.ru/pub/hamradio/schemes/transceivers/HTX-202-1.pdf


Good info at...
http://www.icanworkthisthing.com/docs/amateur_radio/handheld/HTX202 and Notes.shtml

http://www.icanworkthisthing.com/docs/amateur_radio/handheld/HTX202 PL guide.shtml

http://www.icanworkthisthing.com/docs/amateur_radio/handheld/HTX202 cheat sheet.shtml

http://www.qsl.net/wb3gck/htx-202_err1.htm


....and we all love rigpix as well.... :D
http://www.rigpix.com/rs-realistic/htx202.htm






roadranger said:
According to direction, a simple reset funtion can be preformed. It takes about four fingers and co-operation of both hands and feet, but it can be done. If you want it, I can find the reset intructions, but it won't be long before you'll need a memory-backup, Lithium battery.

You're thinking of the ER1 :wink:

Er1: INTERNAL RAM ERROR

Er1 indicates the transceiver has detected an error in its battery-backed up operation memory. This is the most commonly caused by a low lithium backup battery, but can also be caused by static discharge, or a physical shock. To clear the error--

1. Turn off the unit.
2. Press FUNCTION and CLR (the D key).
3. While holding these keys, turn unit on.

This will reset unit and clear memories.

If the transceiver frequently displays the error, have the battery replaced by an authorized Radio Shack service center.
 
Last edited:

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
#5
roadranger said:
Grog has it down and has on a straight head. Thanks to him, I can work less here and do good elswhere!

Well if you can rustle up some sexy female midgets, that sure would do a lot for me :D
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
5,908
Location
175 DME, HEC 358° Radial
#6
Those were actually pretty damned good radios. I have the UHF version, and love it. I still occasionally see almost new units in the box on eBay. When I need an HT to go contesting or to climb a tower, this is the one I use. When I wear 'em out, I hit eBay for another.

I've bought the AA packs from Batteries America and was suitably pleased. The radios are capable of running direct off of vehicle power, and IIRC, they were rated at around 5 watts when operated that way.

I especially liked the PL 'chicken burst'. =)
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2
#7
Question

Has anyone undertaken to change the internal Memory Battery in the HTX-202 if so what is the Voltage and amps
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
#8


Has anyone undertaken to change the internal Memory Battery in the HTX-202 if so what is the Voltage and amps

Have you happened to read the above link? It lets you convert the radio to use a common CR2032 battery.

If you want to keep it stock, there are a few pointers.


WJ5O says at the following...

http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?t=23429

BAT1001 Battery Lithium, 3V, 3/8X15MM Radio Shack part number 420-564-3



This thread...
http://www.eham.net/forums/Elmers/67835

Makes it seem like it is the CR2032 battery, but I do not have one so I can not say for sure.


http://www.repeater-builder.com/radio-shack/radio-shack-index.html has a TON of info for the 202 as well.

http://www.eham.net/articles/11750 is good too.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2
#9
Thanks

Yea I found the thread after I posted the question... Thanks a lot... I haven't used the radio for around 12 years, I am just now getting back into Radio and well I got alot of catching up to do.

Thanks Again
Ken
73's
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
817
Location
Dallas Texas
#11
I got mine brand new from RS in 1998 Still going strong [tho the batt packs are dead] I run it on the AA box it came with right now, later on I want to get some recharge batts and replace the old dead ones.. This has been my only HT for years and I'll never sell it .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top