• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

SDR# now supports custom stepping sizes

Status
Not open for further replies.

br0adband

Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
1,568
Location
Springfield MO
Just wanted to make everyone aware that SDR# now (as of 1-19-2014) has the ability to customize the frequency steppings. I know for most folks it might not be a big issue (or an issue at all), but with my recent foray into the world of SDR and using DSD+ to monitor some NXDN activity, it became somewhat frustrating trying to get the exact frequencies for those types of transmissions since they can use anything from 2.5 to 7.5 kHz - the biggest problem being the 3.125 kHz stepping which SDR# simply didn't support.

At least not till now that is. I made a post on the Yahoo SDR# group and amazingly in under 24 hours Youssef added that functionality in the latest version aka the nightly dev build which can be found on the SDR# download page at:

Downloads | SDR#

In the SDRSharp.exe.config file there's now a line where you can customize the sizes available or even remove those you have no use for. I myself don't have any interest in HF or SWL so I've removed everything larger than 25 kHz since I just don't require them and added 3.125 kHz in so I can nail those pesky offset NXDN transmissions without having to dial them in manually now.

SDR# just gets better and better all the time, I swear. ;)

Thanks Youssef, it's much appreciated.
 

N0IU

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
800
Location
Wentzville, Missouri
In the SDRSharp.exe.config file there's now a line where you can customize the sizes available or even remove those you have no use for.
I just updated to v1174 and I am probably just not looking at for right thing, but for the life of me, I can't find the line where to change the size settings.
 

BM82557

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
2,582
Location
Berkeley Co WV
I just updated to v1174 and I am probably just not looking at for right thing, but for the life of me, I can't find the line where to change the size settings.
This is it -

<add key="stepSizes" value="1 Hz,10 Hz,100 Hz,500 Hz,1 kHz,2.5 kHz,5 kHz,6.25 kHz,7.5 kHz,8.33 kHz,9 kHz,10 kHz,12.5 kHz,15 kHz,20 kHz,25
kHz,30 kHz,50 kHz,100 kHz,150 kHz,200 kHz,250 kHz,300 kHz,350 kHz,400 kHz,450 kHz,500 kHz,1 MHz" />
 

N0IU

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
800
Location
Wentzville, Missouri
Well maybe I just haven't had enough caffeine this morning, but I do not see that line in the SDRSharp.exe Config file. Do I need to add it??

EDIT: Nevermind! I added the line to the config file and it works!
 
Last edited:

br0adband

Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
1,568
Location
Springfield MO
It's not in the pre-1174 config file, it's only in the newer one IF you decide to just copy stuff over (typically not a good idea, of course). I ended up doing a file copy of almost everything except the config file itself because most of the files (but not all of them) are actually updated versions - I used a checksum utility to compare the files in the distribution archive with the older 1173 versions and just replaced only those files as required.

I then opened the "new" config file, found that line for the stepping sizes, copied the whole line and only that line and then pasted it into my regular config file then fired it up and it's working just fine for me. Once I knew it was working I edited the config file to remove the larger steppings over 25 kHz since I don't have any use for them, added 3.125 kHz and I'm all set.

Since SDR# doesn't have an installer for the dev builds, it can be somewhat tricky when doing an "update" to a newer build without doing damage to the previous version's functionality by overwriting things. Because SDR# basically resides in a single folder, my advice to anyone working with the dev/nightly builds (not exactly every night but that's what the nickname for such builds is) is when a new version does become available, make an archive of the current one you're using - Zip up the whole folder and stash it someplace BEFORE you drop in the updated version files. That way you can always revert to the previous version without issues.

The 7 P's... always a good thing. ;)

<I see you figured it out after I made this post so, good job...>
 
Last edited:

N0IU

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
800
Location
Wentzville, Missouri
I figured, "What the heck" and tried adding the line to the config file and if it FUBAR'd the program, I could always comment the line or just delete it or just start over from scratch.

I have had my amateur radio license over 21 years but I have only been poking around with these dongles for just a couple of weeks and I have to say that this is the first thing to come along in a very long time that has me really excited about where radio is going.

It is also a bit of a humbling experience to be on the other side of the question and answer equation. So despite what some people may think, I really don't "know it all"!
 

BM82557

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
2,582
Location
Berkeley Co WV
Just an FYI -

I also notice that 1174 has this for the not yet available Airspy -

<!-- <add key="AIRSPY One" value="SDRSharp.AirSpy.AirSpyIO,SDRSharp.AirSpy" /> -->


Maybe soon??
 

br0adband

Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
1,568
Location
Springfield MO
SDR# author/developer may have one as part of the testing process, who knows. There's just not that much about Airspy that matters so far but, of what I've seen it does look promising. If SDR# supports it "out of the box" that's just going to make both products better, most definitely.

EDIT:

DUH, I forgot - Youssef created SDR# and he's basically handling the design and development of Airspy, it's his project as I understand it, with help from others. Was catching up with the Airspy Yahoo Group just now and realized my booboo there. Of course SDR# will support Airspy - they're both created by the same guy. ;)
 
Last edited:

BM82557

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
2,582
Location
Berkeley Co WV
Sorry but the new version does not support RTL-SDR/USB.

By default this line in the SDRSharp config file is always commented out when you install a new version -

<!-- <add key="RTL-SDR / USB" value="SDRSharp.RTLSDR.RtlSdrIO,SDRSharp.RTLSDR" /> -->


You have to remove the <!-- from the beginning and the --> from the end
 

pyteen

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
29
When I removed the comments and run programm this message appears.
Error loading 'SDRSharp.RTLSDR.RtlSdrIO,SDRSharp.RTLSDR' ....

But I have earlier version is installed and it works. I just need step 3.125 for nxdn.
 
Last edited:

BM82557

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
2,582
Location
Berkeley Co WV
When I removed the comments and run programm this message appears.
Error loading 'SDRSharp.RTLSDR.RtlSdrIO,SDRSharp.RTLSDR' ....

But I have earlier version is installed and it works. I just need step 3.125 for nxdn.

Make sure you copy RTLSDR.DLL into the folder where you have the new version of SDRSharp.
 

pyteen

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
29
Thanks guys, it was done. Copied two files SDRSharp.RTLSDR.dll and rtlsdr.dll, the program has earned.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top