SDS200 SDS200 initial reviews

W9BU

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
5,551
Location
Brownsburg, Indiana
#1
The SDS200 is now arriving in the hands of purchasers in the U.S.

Please limit this thread to:
  • First-hand reports from people who have actually used an SDS200 to monitor radio traffic or,
  • Questions directed to people who have first-hand experience with the SDS200.
Thank you.
 
Last edited:

mam1081

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,046
Location
Next to a scanner...
#5
sds200_box.JPG sds200_update.JPG sds200_screen.JPG


Also, the old Siren app for the 536 seems to work sorta...it will show you the activity on the screen and the RSSI level, but no audio. I just have the scanner plugged into the front network jack. Doing a quick port scan, it seems the FTP port is open, and sometimes you can get a response on port 80 - browsing to it, it's just a site that says: I am scanner called UB375Z.
 

RCjim

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
96
Location
New York
#8
A few more. Thanks Ham Station.
So Ham Station did what they promised, that's good to know the next time I have to spend $700.00
on a new scanner. Mine is still sitting in Texas and not South Bend where my shipping label was created.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
243
Location
Lima NY
#11
From the looks after zooming in on the screen of the sds200 . It looks like the screen reflects around the edges just like the sds100 . Was hoping this wouldn’t be the case .
 

wise871

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
3,708
Location
Florida
#12
From the looks after zooming in on the screen of the sds200 . It looks like the screen reflects around the edges just like the sds100 . Was hoping this wouldn’t be the case .
Which picture do you see that on? I see the light reflecting off the plastic screen cover they haven’t removed yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
243
Location
Lima NY
#13
Which picture do you see that on? I see the light reflecting off the plastic screen cover they haven’t removed yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last one , could be the plastic I suppose . I does reflect more on the sds100 with my screen protector on
 

wise871

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
3,708
Location
Florida
#14
Last one , could be the plastic I suppose . I does reflect more on the sds100 with my screen protector on
Definitely the screen protector from what I see. I looked at some of the previous videos on YouTube and none of them show exhibit this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
243
Location
Lima NY
#15
Definitely the screen protector from what I see. I looked at some of the previous videos on YouTube and none of them show exhibit this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, I too am looking at YouTube . Seems the issue is none existent on the sds200 .
 

mam1081

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,046
Location
Next to a scanner...
#17
Yea, same as previous pics. Antenna, Ext Speaker, MicroUSB, GPS, Power (barrel & 3 pin).

I may have something set funny...anyone else get the scanner dropping some digital calls mid-call, and when sitting on a trunked system with no traffic, the signal meter goes on and off, as does the SysID and RSSI - almost like Close Call is on (but its not) or its searching for another control channel. The frequency display doesn't change off of the control channel. This seems to happen on all systems tried so far - P25 (400 & 800) and Motorola SZ systems (400 & 800), EDACS (800 - maybe not as "jumpy" as on the other systems)
 

Kingmobileaudio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
805
Location
Lincoln, NE
#18
Yea, same as previous pics. Antenna, Ext Speaker, MicroUSB, GPS, Power (barrel & 3 pin).

I may have something set funny...anyone else get the scanner dropping some digital calls mid-call, and when sitting on a trunked system with no traffic, the signal meter goes on and off, as does the SysID and RSSI - almost like Close Call is on (but its not) or its searching for another control channel. The frequency display doesn't change off of the control channel. This seems to happen on all systems tried so far - P25 (400 & 800) and Motorola SZ systems (400 & 800), EDACS (800 - maybe not as "jumpy" as on the other systems)
Sounds like priority is on


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
 
Top