• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Sell my pro-106 and buy a home patrol

Home Patrol-Yes or No

  • would recommend

    Votes: 4 23.5%
  • not recommend

    Votes: 13 76.5%

  • Total voters
    17
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Ok, I have had just about all I can take on my PRO-106. I have had it now for a year and have been picking the brains or some very helpful members on this site. However, I am still having issues with it. I have tried WIN500 and have found it very helpful and fun but not really fixing my issues so far. I will not get into all of the issues in this post. I welcome you to read my prior post.

So here is my question. I am going to sell my PRO-106 along with all my other stuff I purchase with it on eBay. I have read great things about the Home Patrol as far as programing and the like. As stated in my prior post I really only use scanners to listen to Colorado Springs Fire and some Vol. departments around the city.

What are some of the pros and cons to the Home Patrol? Is this a good choice for my listing needs? Will my roof mount 800mhz anntanna still work with it? Also anything else you might think off will be helpful.

I have also put a poll on this post. To see how many of you think the change will be worth it.

Thanks
 

abqscan

DataBase Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
2,612
Location
AOA
Since there are several people with the radio in the springs that do not have any issues with it, why don't you contact them for some help? Throwing money at a problem doesn't solve it.
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
I agree about not putting money in when not needed. However, as stated in my post I have talked to a few members here that have gotten me pretty far. however my issues are still not fixed. No need to go over things again in this post as you can read them in my prior post. Long story short, I have now had two of these units that work fine for about thirty min and then just stop receiving transmissions. Again, this post is not to hash out what the problem is or is not, just to find out how you all like the Home Patrol and if it is easy to use.

Any help will be great.
 

jeffreyinberthoud

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Oct 18, 2001
Messages
1,870
Location
BERTHOUD COLORADO
I have a question and depending on the answer it might solve some of your issues
I looked back and saw a thread you started Used Coax Question

So did you use it and are there new connectors on it ? your cut out issue is it only when home and on your base antenna?
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
No, never did use the used coax yet. However still plan on it. The issues happen when I am using the stock whip and the 800mhz antanna I purchased at radio shack for the PRO-106.
 

abqscan

DataBase Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
2,612
Location
AOA
I would love for you to come by my store and let me look @ the radio!
 

abqscan

DataBase Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
2,612
Location
AOA
Radioshack
5170 E Arapahoe Rd.
Centennial, CO 80122
303.773.6346

Just call and make sure I'm gonna be there before your journey!
 

blue5011

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
431
Location
Faribault County, MN
No, never did use the used coax yet. However still plan on it. The issues happen when I am using the stock whip and the 800mhz antanna I purchased at radio shack for the PRO-106.
I am curious. What R/S antenna are you using? I have two generic R/S $30 19" scanner antennas up 35' (RG-58 coax) and use them for VHF/UHF/800. I couldn't be more pleased.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top