• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Sentinel Software

Status
Not open for further replies.

n2pqq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
896
#1
Upman (Paul)

Could you please include a new feature in the
next version of sentinel.

I would like to be able to turn on or off all sites or departments
when programming a system.

This feature would make programming easier.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
8,884
Location
PA
#2
Sentinel has that feature already. You can assign quick keys to manually toggle things on and off, or if you want to permanently shut off something you don't want, you can Avoid systems, departments, sites, or individual channels.

No new feature is needed, you just need to learn to use Sentinel.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,093
Location
Louisville, KY
#3
And you can go to the System or Department Quick Keys Status tab in Sentinel to set the associated Quick Key to being Off or On by default. Thus a Department Quick Key being Off by default means the Department is off unless you turn it on.

Also you can set these things to Avoid in Sentinel and they'll be off until you Un-avoid them.
 

n2pqq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
896
#4
Thank you gents ,please reread my post.
I am talking about when you first import a system.
A system such as this has many sites and departments.

New Jersey Interoperability Communications System (NJICS) Trunking System, Statewide, Multi-State - Scanner Frequencies

When you import the system all sites and departments are turned on by default.
I would like to shut everything off and then choose what sites I want on.

Example being I only listen to one site on this system,
I have to shut off 32 sites to listen to only one site.
If I could shut off all sites I would then only have to choose one site from list.

Look at the way it is done in the Whistler software.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
#5
It is simple to do that, now. Set one of the site/department avoid status to Avoid. Then while in that cell, CTRL-C. CTRL-SHIFT-DOWN arrow to select the entire Avoid column. Then CTRL-V to paste Avoid into all.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,093
Location
Louisville, KY
#7
With software there are a lot of ways to go to arrive at the same destination. You could think about setting your desired site to Department Quick Key 0 and all others to Department Quick Key 1. Then, turn off DQK1 leaving only 0 active.

If you go elsewhere and monitor the system, all you have to do is turn DQK1 on. A lot less "menu" work this way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top