Shortwave Maritime Transcripts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dacjedi

First time poster with little to no monitoring experience looking for a little help.

I am a fiction writer working on a book that involves shortwave radio communication. I have found a number of youtube videos of maritime transmissions, but what I could really use is some typed transcripts to use for reference.

Can anyone recommend a source for this kind of transcript? Also, are there any specific or unique transmissions I should look up? I am particularly interested in severe weather warnings and SOS & distress calls.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

-D

VernM

Take your succinct questions to the membership organizations and similar for these groups. As a writer, I can tell you they would welcome an opportunity to put you with closer sources and professionals rather than have you screw up or obviously dramatize your dialogue where it isn't warranted and will only make you look bad, if ever published. Been there, learned that.

wyShack

Premium Subscriber
A distress call would contain the work 'MAYDAY' (the voice equivalent of SOS). If you have access to a shortwave receiver that is SSB (Single side band) capable you can listen to normal automated weather broadcasts. A schedule can be found at USCG HF Voice . there are many 'nets' (scheduled over the air meetings) that you could also find (frequency and time) with a little research. Most weather is now done via satellite and/or 'digital' modes (text based rather than voice). One site I found is
SSB Nets & Frequencies

If you don't have access to a short wave radio try one of the 'global tuners' that are on the internet and allow you to tune and listen to them.

majoco

Stirrer