Springfield, MO Uniden BCD436HP Users

APK-1

Springfield, MO Uniden BCD436HP Users!

How is your performance in Springfield, MO with the Uniden BCD436HP?

0hNiner

I have been using the BCD436HP in Springfield, MO for about 3 years now and haven't really experienced any obvious simulcast issues (distorted or garbled transmissions) since the migration to MOSWIN. It may just be the luck of location for me. I live a mile or so east of Hwy 65 and Division, and work near that area as well, so most of my listening is from there.

I primarily monitor SPD, GCSO, FD, and EMS and the one thing I have noticed is it seems like traffic is down 20-30% as compared to before the migration on those groups. I update my favorites lists (using Sentinel) regularly so I'm confident I am not missing any freqs/IDs that I was monitoring before - other than the few that are now encrypted. I'm still using the same antenna setup so, I guess it's conceivable I'm missing some transmissions due to simulcast -or- maybe they shut off one of the eastern towers I was getting before -or- maybe I actually listened to the now encrypted stuff more than I thought before the migration.

I'm not as savvy or experienced as most on this forum so I have not spent a ton of time tweaking the more advanced setting of the radio yet. But, thought I would go ahead and share my experience with the BCD436HP here in Springfield in case it may be helpful.

Ensnared

There are two from this manufacturer that are geared for 700/800 MHz:

Alinco REM-842S Remtronix Flexible HT and Scanner Whips | DX Engineering

SMA VHF/UHF/800 MHz REM-842S REMTRONIX Triband antenna | Scanner Master

I love this model as well, but it is prone to bending if you are not careful.

Alinco REM-810S Remtronix Flexible HT and Scanner Whips | DX Engineering

I strongly recommend Remtronix. It makes a great deal of difference when compared with the stock antenna. I also recommend that you buy the SMA male version.

0hNiner