• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

State Police Bank & Talkgroup setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
I am new to this and am not sure how to set up my bank (Sate Police) with the right talkgroups and frequencies for Troops A,H,F.

Any help would be appreciated.
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
What scanner do you have? Do you program it with software.
I have a PSR-300 (being delivered today) and am trying to set-up the ARC300 software now before it gets here.

I set up the local police in my area (Medford,Somerville,Malden,Melrose,Stoneham,Chelsea,Everett) and set it as Motorola (not sure if it should be that or EDACS)

I did the same for the State Police Frequencies I found on here, in its own bank.

Do I need to add the talkgroups in the State Police bank? Or will it automatically search for them?

I just don't want to get any chatter from other Troops outside my area. (Troops A,H,F)
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
What scanner do you have? Do you program it with software.
Also, I am thinking of having a bank just for troop A,H highways only for when I am driving. Is that possible to do?

Thanks again!

Very green at this.
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,600
Location
Eastern MA
I have a PSR-300 (being delivered today) and am trying to set-up the ARC300 software now before it gets here.

I set up the local police in my area (Medford,Somerville,Malden,Melrose,Stoneham,Chelsea,Everett) and set it as Motorola (not sure if it should be that or EDACS)

Neither. All of those cities are conventional analog systems. The only city in that area that is trunked is Cambridge, and they simulcast some traffic on UHF.



Also, I am thinking of having a bank just for troop A,H highways only for when I am driving. Is that possible to do?

Thanks again!

Very green at this.
Yes. Actually on the GRE scanners, you can put trunk system talk group or conventional channel in multiple lists. So, if you only want to hear certain MSP talk groups when you are in your vehicle, you set a list with just those talk groups. Enable it when you're mobile and then turn it off and turn the other one one when you're home. I'm assuming, since my experience is with the PSR 600, that you can do that with the 300 as well.

Take your time learning the software. I've used all of the Uniden Dynamic Memory scanners and the Butel software for them and I was overwhelmed when I first tried to do programming with ARC500 for the PSR600. Don't be surprised if you have to change a lot of things around at first and reprogram several times before you get it where you want it.
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
garys;1238682 Yes. Actually on the GRE scanners said:
thanks!

kinda off topic, but I have these banks set-up as Motorola. Is that right or should they be EDACS? Or not trunked for the local cites?
 

jack103

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Messages
445
Location
Tewksbury MA
thanks!

kinda off topic, but I have these banks set-up as Motorola. Is that right or should they be EDACS? Or not trunked for the local cites?
For a execellant site for any info on MASS GO TO THIS SITE----http://www.scannewengland.net/forums/content.php
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
Thanks guyz! I have it working now.

I can't get any good frequencies for EMS in Medford area though.
 

w2csx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
675
Location
Rochester,NY & Charlton,MA
I looked under Middlesex on this site and found Police,FD frequencies. I also found Trinity EMS service that operate on a LTR system. Since I'm in southern Worcester County I am ot sure if that covers Medford or not.
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
I looked under Middlesex on this site and found Police,FD frequencies. I also found Trinity EMS service that operate on a LTR system. Since I'm in southern Worcester County I am ot sure if that covers Medford or not.
I found some Cataldo and Armstrong, but they are all static. Still looking.
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,600
Location
Eastern MA
As others have suggested, scannewengland.net is a good resource. There are files, a Wiki, forums, and a lot of people with very good knowledge of scanning in MA and other New England States. Depending on what you using for an antenna, you should hear Cataldo and Fallon on their respective VHF systems quite well.
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
As others have suggested, scannewengland.net is a good resource. There are files, a Wiki, forums, and a lot of people with very good knowledge of scanning in MA and other New England States. Depending on what you using for an antenna, you should hear Cataldo and Fallon on their respective VHF systems quite well.
Thanks Garys. I found plenty of frequencies, but still static only. Maybe I have it set up wrong or maybe its my antenna.

Can anyone in Medford tell me the frequency they use?
 

zerg901

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
2,560
Location
Arlington MA
Armstrong Ambulance provides EMS for Medford. They usually can be heard on the Medford FD frequency, and on the Armstrong freqs of 463.525 and 464.025. The repeaters for 463.525 and 464.025 might be in Waltham, so they might be hard to hear in Medford. Peter Sz
 

bumpbailey

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24
Armstrong Ambulance provides EMS for Medford. They usually can be heard on the Medford FD frequency, and on the Armstrong freqs of 463.525 and 464.025. The repeaters for 463.525 and 464.025 might be in Waltham, so they might be hard to hear in Medford. Peter Sz
Thanks Peter. 464.025 and 463.525 are coming in great.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top