Studying for Ham Technician

Status
Not open for further replies.

KE2BJW

KE2BJW
I am studying for my technician ham license and going to continue to work hard at studying over and over so I can memorize everything and when next year comes I can go for the exam

K0WBC

Visit HamRadio 2.0 on You Tube., Recorded classes. Both Technician and General.

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
I am studying for my technician ham license and going to continue to work hard at studying over and over so I can memorize everything and when next year comes I can go for the exam
Congratulations on your decision to go for a Tech license. You'll be better off in the long run if you learn the material rather than memorize.
We all learn different ways and at different rates. With a moderate study schedule, you should be ready to take the licensing exam in a month or two. One way of gauging this is when you are consistently hitting 90% or better on the online practice tests.

It's also good to get your FRN registration number and account set up through the FCC sooner than later.

In addition to using a written study guide and looking over the questions, you might find Dave Casler's, KE0OG, Ham Radio Answers videos useful.

K7MEM

The OP didn't actually say that he was memorizing the questions and answers. He only said he was studying and memorizing the material.

IMHO, I don't think memorizing the questions is necessary. If you go through the questions, you will find that most of the answers are pretty obvious. A good way to get use to the test is the practice tests on, say, QRZ.com. There are similar practice tests on other sites. Once you are scoring 90% on a regular basis, you are ready for the test.