Tac Channel

Status
Not open for further replies.

BNC173

Premium Subscriber
I have a Uniden BCD996xt that I have been using for a few years. I can pickup the digital & the Kansas system trunking & all kinds of stuff. When something good happens the local sheriff dept will say go to Tac 1 or Tac 2. I have all the channels listed in RR in my system even the ones listed as Tac but I don't hear anything. I assume these are private channels that may not be listed but I have even turned on close call that I thought would pickup anything in my area & I still don't hear everything. Can someone give any tips of how I can find these? I did read once that maybe they was blocked & the only way was to get a scanner from another country that doesn't block those freq but not sure the pro's & cons of that.
Thanks

GamerMason

Mind giving the county you're trying to listen to? This could help answer the question. I know some KS counties use Tac for medical emergencies or high event (like pursuits).

BNC173

Premium Subscriber
What county?
When you hear them mention the tac channels is this on the state trunked system or their own system?

Jackson County, Kansas on their own I think most of the time but not 100% sure.

nd5y

According to the database they use KSICS and there are two talkgroups called Tac 1 & Tac 2 that are encrypted.
If you downloaded the database to your scanner it probably does not include encrypted talkgroups.
Assuming the information is correct (which may or may not be the case) you can't listen to them. It's impossible for a scanner to decode encrypted talkgroups. You can use control channel decoding software to display activity and radio IDs on encrypted talkgroups but you still can't listen to them.

BNC173

Premium Subscriber
Humm I think that was what someone was saying about a scanner that had something built in that would allow that came direct from hong kong or something...kind of a "black market" deal. Thanks for your help

PrivatelyJeff