The " GoTenna " and other hardware like it

Status
Not open for further replies.

KF5QZS

Today, I was looking up ways to send data to others in my area via a PC. I'm new to packet / data radio on HAM bands. I was trying to find hardware or something similar that I could plug into a USB port on a PC, plug into an antenna ( mine is outside ) and send receive texts via my computer to locals here.

I didn't have much luck with that, but I DID find this

goTenna | No service? No problem.

The GoTenna. It sounds promising.

I just wish there was a way to mount it on my PC, and hook it's antenna up to my tower I already have in place.

Hams, is there a piece of hardware you can buy that will plug into your PC ( via USB or other ) that will transmit and receive data ( text, possible images ) with out a BUNCH of complication involved? I want plug and play.

I got an STL / SDR usb stick, and I play around with it using SDR#. What I have in my head, is a stick device that does the same thing, but can not only receive but send data as well.

prerunner1982

I just wish there was a way to mount it on my PC, and hook it's antenna up to my tower I already have in place.

The problem with GoTenna is that it can only communicate with other GoTenna users. The idea is good but would be better if it could communicate with say FRS/GMRS/MURS type radios..... maybe something like this... Beartooth | Enabling Critical Communication

dave6890

Premium Subscriber
The problem with GoTenna is that it can only communicate with other GoTenna users. The idea is good but would be better if it could communicate with say FRS/GMRS/MURS type radios..... maybe something like this... Beartooth | Enabling Critical Communication