TK-790 external speaker pinout

wcu02mpa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
343
Location
Asheville,NC
#1
Does anybody know the pinout for the external speaker leads on a TK-790. I assume it is with the 9-pin plug and not the 25-pin plug.

Thanks,

Mike
 

wcu02mpa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
343
Location
Asheville,NC
#3
Thanks

That did it. This radio has amazing audio; it is a step up from the 730 for sure. It has very crisp and clear speaker audio as well as signal reports. I plan on remote mounting this radio. Do I run the speaker leads from the 9-pin when remote mounted. I see there is a 12-pin connector, but am not sure what that is for.

Mike
 

wcu02mpa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
343
Location
Asheville,NC
#5
Part numbers???

I see it....DUH!!!! Firemaster.....would you happen to know the part number for the accessory plugs (from mouser or somewhere else)???? I would like both the 9 and the 12 pin plugs. I got some of the TK-730 plugs from mouser but am having trouble finding these.

Mike
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
896
#7
If you remote-mount your 790 and plug the speaker into the control head you'll be limited to 5 watts audio output. If you run the speaker wire back to the radio drawer you'll get the full 13 watts.

I run my external speakers to the drawers in my x90 radios.
 

n7maq-1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
5
Location
Oregon
#8
If you remote-mount your 790 and plug the speaker into the control head you'll be limited to 5 watts audio output. If you run the speaker wire back to the radio drawer you'll get the full 13 watts.

I run my external speakers to the drawers in my x90 radios.
There is a 0 Ohm resistor that you can move to give you the full AO from pins 10/11 on the C/H. I don't know the R number off the top of my head, I'll look it up and update this post.


Jim
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
896
#9
Correct. According to the service manual you move a jumper resistor from R628 to R627.

I've never done this so use at your own risk.
 
Last edited:

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,770
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
#10
On the 25 pin D connector, if I bring the audio out of pin 17, do I need to ground it with anything? I don't want to brick my radio. I'm using a TK-790 for a feed here, but need some audio!

TIA,
Tim
 

Kaceypaul

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
3
#12
No Audio

I just installed my TK 790H today, and have the remote kit hooked up. I have the ignition sense cable coming off the radio unit not the head. I have the sheet that shows the pinouts, and when I try and use either one of them, I don't get any sound. I tested the speaker and that works fine. It's just for some reason I cant get any audio at all. Any tips or thoughts?
 

Kaceypaul

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
3
#14
So if I read that correctly, I just have to run my ignition sense, and my speaker from the head unit not the big part of the radio?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2012
Messages
36
Location
Mi Wuk Village, CA, USA
#16
Shorted Pins?

Do pins on the 9 pin molex connector need to be shorted?

TK-790H
Full-featured Front Panel KCH-11 (remote mounted)

To use the speaker output from the KCH-11 in the dash (pins 10 & 11 on the 12 pin molex), do any pins need to be shorted on the base 9 pin molex?

Larry
KJ6QVI
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,600
Location
Sonoma, CA
#17
Reference the diagram from post 15. It shows the jumper lead needed to route speaker audio to the control head. The jumper is between pins 3 & 6.
 
Top