• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

TRX-1: import issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
682
Location
Object-oriented
#1
Hi again- I screwed up today.

Long story long, I plugged one of the TRX-1s into the computer. Windows did it's usual "error with this drive" drivel, and without thinking (I'm at work), I clicked through to 'fix' the error.

I brought up the TRX software, clicked on the trunking tab, made a few small changes, and uploaded the codeplug. I then brought the second TRX-1 over and uploaded the same new codeplug to it. After thinking for a few minutes about other changes, I selected the conventional tab and...nothing.

Where I should've seen 272 frequencies, zero were present. I checked both TRX radios and, of course, nothing conventional in either.

Sigh. Anyhow, I was set to import conventional freqs from PSREdit as the PSR radios and TRX radios pretty much mirror each other (as a known good baseline). When I selected import from clipboard in the TRX software, I found that only the conventional stuff in the PSR radio's 1st scanlist imported. Even changing EVERYTHING to scanlist 1 doesn't do anything...The TRX software petulantly refuses to import more than 20 or so freqs.

Make sense yet?

What am I missing?
 

mikey60

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,507
Location
Oakland County Michigan
#2
From the other thread on this subject, make sure there is a mode column and an Alpha Tag column in the import. Also make sure there is an alpha tag present in the record to be imported.

Mike
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
682
Location
Object-oriented
#5
Well, I tried again and ensured, redundantly, that the columns were properly labeled with what they contained. I tried copying 50 conventional frequencies; 10 successfully imported. WTH?

I then tried 8 conventional frequencies; none copied.

ETA- I figured it out. The mode must be specified....AM, FM, NFM, etc. Auto cannot be imported.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
543
Location
MO
#9
The objects that didn't import, did you have added an alpha tag to it? Import needs that as well as frequency. Doesn't need the mode info, just a column so you can assign it as MODE in import

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
 

AggieCon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Messages
1,444
Location
Texas
#10
At a certain point, for threads like this to continue to be productive at all, files need to be uploaded, the clipboard needs to be posted, and/or we need screenshots.

I understand that it is horrible that EZ Scan does not give a detailed error message (or any error message) to help you figure out the error. Or that the documentation is marginal at best. At any rate, likely, your data is not all in the format that will be accepted. If you post it, perhaps we can actually help you.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
682
Location
Object-oriented
#13
At a certain point, for threads like this to continue to be productive at all, files need to be uploaded, the clipboard needs to be posted, and/or we need screenshots.

I understand that it is horrible that EZ Scan does not give a detailed error message (or any error message) to help you figure out the error. Or that the documentation is marginal at best. At any rate, likely, your data is not all in the format that will be accepted. If you post it, perhaps we can actually help you.
I've since solved the issue, but I'll reiterate the details.

I opened PSREdit, loaded a .bin file of conventional frequencies, copied it to the clipboard.

I then opened the TRX software, selected import from clipboard, and verified the alphatag, frequency and mode columns were properly labeled as such and contained that information. I did the import and found a paucity of objects actually imported.

The second time I attempted this, I realized only the objects with a firmly delineated mode (aka FM, NFM or AM) had imported. Objects set to "auto" as a mode did not import.

I then went back to PSREdit, labeled everything as either NFM or AM (frequency dependent), and did the import process again. This time they all imported correctly.

I then went through and batch-changed what had imported to what mode I wanted and uploaded to both radios. Saved myself the pain of hand-jamming in all the lost frequencies.

I'm working OCONUS this week, at the speed of dial-up internet, so pics will not be forthcoming. Also, as part of my job, I learn of sensitive frequencies and have those in my radios, so a screenshot would likely entail changing 200+ objects to alphatags such as "secret frequency" and the NACs to "search" or something, and I don't possess the patience for that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top