• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

trx up and running untill put batteries in

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
#1
just got trx1 and all the downloads went great. Up and scanning until I put batteries in and the scanner went haywire. Did it mess up sd card. Will I have to reformat card.The battery setting was correct.
 

muskrat39

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
1,194
Location
north central Indiana
#2
just got trx1 and all the downloads went great. Up and scanning until I put batteries in and the scanner went haywire. Did it mess up sd card. Will I have to reformat card.The battery setting was correct.
If you inserted the batteries without first shutting off the scanner, then it is likely the SD card is corrupted.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
#3
Just for safety reformat it and reload your sd card.
You could take the batteries out then try again,but I would just re'hit" the card.
Always power down before trying any stunts like that.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
#4
The scanner was off I had just picked it up off my desk after taking power adapter off to use on phone so I know it was off and no power to it. It did have the USB cable attached to scanner but not hooked to any power source.
 

N2MWE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
2,439
Location
People's Republic of New York
#5
The scanner was off I had just picked it up off my desk after taking power adapter off to use on phone so I know it was off and no power to it. It did have the USB cable attached to scanner but not hooked to any power source.
Just curious...did you eject the scanner from the computer before disconnecting it? That can corrupt the card as well.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
25
Location
Fitchburg, MA
#6
try up and running until batteries

I have a new TRX-1 as well and have made several mistakes using the radio and messing it up. Most I have been able to correct (with help from Whistler and this forum) and now have it running the way I want

I am curious what the radio was indicating to you when you put the batteries in that triggered the problem.

I find that there is a good deal more to figure out with this type of scanner than my other more simple analog radios but the end result is so much better once I get it configured to my requirements.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
#7
As soon as I hit the power on button after putting batteries in I got no error message, It came up for me to set the clock and the clock had been already set with first program. So I hit the menu key and it just went wild going thru all my scan list and beeping real fast. Now every time I turn it on it wants me to set the clock and if I go to any menu setting it go wild. I will have the clock set with the cp programming and soon as I power on it goes to set clock and it has lost the right time..
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
25
Location
Fitchburg, MA
#8
Ok. I remember that I had to reset the clock several times which I ended up doing manually instead of using EZscan. Now when I power up my TRX-1 I get the "Verifying Data' and then it brings up the "Main Menu". From there I can toggle down to the "Program Menu" hit SEL and then "Global Settings". The menu in "Global Settings" scrolls both up and down so you can check out the many different settings. I found that selecting "Default Vals" brought my scanner back to normal so I could continue to program using the EZSCAN. But if when you hit the menu key and it goes wild so you can't try that you may need to reformat your SD card as K200L suggested.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
#9
Called Whislter and as soon as I told them what was going on they knew the problem. I have 3 keys on the keypad not working, its liked they are glued down. He said to send it back for a new one.THANKS WHISLTER for quick action. Its the left arrow, number 1 and number 7 key on the keypad.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
25
Location
Fitchburg, MA
#10
trx up and running until put batteries in.

Called Whislter and as soon as I told them what was going on they knew the problem. I have 3 keys on the keypad not working, its liked they are glued down. He said to send it back for a new one.THANKS WHISLTER for quick action. Its the left arrow, number 1 and number 7 key on the keypad.
Good to hear Whistler responded that way. That's a problem I had not heard of before but I guess final inspection checks are not fool proof. I picked the TRX-1 mainly because I liked the way the display looked. Not the most scientific method for making a selection but I am pleased with the radio so far. I still have a few bugs to work out. When I manually go to "Browse Library" it tells me "Database files not found on SD Card. Please reinstall, so I have to sort through that problem.

Check out zip scanner on Youtube. They have some very helpful videos on TRX-1 programming.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
1,053
Location
IL
#11
Trx up and running

@RPETER - The scanner is telling you the Library hasn't been uploaded to the scanner from the EZScan form yet. After you download the latest Library on Saturday's from Radio Ref to the EZSCAN. You should be able to select (Scanner/SDCard) in the menu above and then scroll to "Copy Library to Scanner Memory/SDCard" It is best to take the MicroSD card OUT of the scanner and use the card reader in your PC instead of using the usb hooked up to the scanner itself. Try that and it should load the Library to the scanner for use. I have 2 Micro SD cards I alternate. Anytime I update the library I use that method to make sure the other card also has the most up to date library
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top