TV Antenna any good for picking up 150-170 railroad frequencies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NWP-SWP

Hi all I'm new to the world of scanners but anyways, I live about 30-35 miles north of Baton Rouge, I'd like to listen in on the UP on the West Bank, KCS in BR, and CN in BR, I have an old TV antenna in good shape and was wondering if i could use it to pick up the RR frequencies, they're around 160-170.
I have two masts for the antenna I was going to connect together to get more elevation, I figure I can get around 35 ft of mast, I did a google search and pulled up very little, thanks in advance!

KB4MSZ

Billy
Premium Subscriber
Those are mid-band VHF frequencies and a TV antenna should have fairly good coverage of that range. I would assume that most (if not all) of the rail road communications is vertical polarization, so the antenna should be mounted in a vertical orientation, not the traditional horizontal orientation used in TV and FM broadcast. Cross-polarization would greatly reduce the effectiveness of the antenna, especially at those frequencies.

Most TV antennas are of LogP design, and the elements are swept back at an angle. This may require offsetting the antenna a bit from the mast, assuming the mast is conductive, in order for the elements to not make contact with the mast.

Hope this helps

NWP-SWP

I believe that the antenna looks like this, I'm going to go check in a bit but it's pretty close.
HD8200XL_medlrg.jpg

NWP-SWP

So would I mount it with the cross bars horizontal or vertical?
So like this
_I_I_I_I_
I I I I
Or
__I__
__I__
__I__
__I__
I

KB4MSZ

Billy
Premium Subscriber
Good, the elements are not swept back.