• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

ARC536: Unable to Connect? :(

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
416
Location
Hilliard, OH
#1
Trying to connect by way of serial port. I have a null modem cable blah blah blah. Got it on COM7, which is where my device manager says it is.

I can connect through the front USB, but trying to run virtual control through serial is not working? Is there some parameter I need to tell it where to look? :(
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,779
Location
NW Tenn
#2
Not sure but the serial port works with the GPS unit for the scanner. I have not heard of anything else working on the serial port.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
416
Location
Hilliard, OH
#3
My understanding is the GPS port doubles as a remote port with a null cable. Someone please inform me if this is not correct?

Sent from my SM-S820L using Tapatalk
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,131
Location
Louisville, KY
#4
You are correct - the rear port can indeed be used as a serial port for Virtual Control purposes. There were some issues with using the factory supplied cable connected to the front port in Serial Mode. So the recommended fix was to use that rear/GPS port for serial purposes.

I'm running the rear port configuration just fine. One thing I've noticed is that with the recent releases of ARC 536 Pro, I have to click the Start button. Older versions started automatically.

The only thing I'd suggest is a computer shut-down re-start and it's a shot in the dark. If you are using a USB/Serial converter, I've run into some instances of two different software programs attempting to capture the associated com-port. The shut-down re-start process releases the ports.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,131
Location
Louisville, KY
#6
Com port 3.

(I'm using a Plugable USB/Serial converter, and that's the port it configured itself to. The computer is a new one and the older computer I had used port 8. How it determines which port is beyond my knowledge.)
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,779
Location
NW Tenn
#8
That is the type answer I was looking for be it 9600 8 none and 1 or 5700 8 bits none and 1 ect.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,131
Location
Louisville, KY
#12
Have you confirmed your port is set to 115200? Menu>Set Your Location>Set Up GPS>Set Serial Port

Perhaps Proscan is a little more tolerant than ARC in port settings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top