• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

UniTrunker Feature Request Re: Patches

Status
Not open for further replies.

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,087
Location
Shavano Park, TX
#1
One feature that I would like to see is the ability to dynamically rename an EDACS patch ID if a certain talkgroup is a member of that patch.

For instance, on EDACS systems patches are dynamically allocated by the system on decimal IDs 2035-2040 and 1-10. Each of those patch ID's might have a number of actual talkgroups patched to the patch ID, however the assigned patch ID can change.

I'd like it if I could define a rule that says "If X talkgroup is a member of the patch ID, then the description or 'destination party' in Unitrunker should be Y"

Otherwise, I can't label individual patch Ids with anything other that "Patch #" because they dynamically change day by day.

Thoughts?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
#2
blantonl said:
I'd like it if I could define a rule that says "If X talkgroup is a member of the patch ID, then the description or 'destination party' in Unitrunker should be Y"
That leads to the following.

Imagine two rules:

SAID #1 inherits the label from group 50 when the group is added to the patch set.
SAID #1 inherits the label from group 100 when the group is added to the patch set.

Now the dispatcher adds BOTH 50 and 100 to SAID #1. What should the label for SAID #1 be?
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,087
Location
Shavano Park, TX
#4
Unitrunker said:
That leads to the following.

Imagine two rules:

SAID #1 inherits the label from group 50 when the group is added to the patch set.
SAID #1 inherits the label from group 100 when the group is added to the patch set.

Now the dispatcher adds BOTH 50 and 100 to SAID #1. What should the label for SAID #1 be?
Patch Rule List (PatchRuleList) (dec,patchName,Priority)

273,Police Patch,50
561 EMS Patch,40
1043 SO Patch,50
1114 County Fire Patch,25

if patchTgList contains PatchRuleList_Member
then
patchName = PatchRuleList_Member_patchName
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
#5
I've considered including the number of the current number of talkgroups associated with an active patch to appear in parenthesis in the patch label. For the text label, I've considered cycling through the group labels at a rate of 3 or 4 per second (or even scroll horizontally left-to-right inside the grid cell). However, combining your idea with the patch count is less work.

To accommodate - I can add two extra fields to each talkgroup - a patch label and patch priority.

Here's the direction I'm leaning at the moment ...

If a patched group ID already has a label - display that as the label or "alpha tag". This means that Motorola systems - for the most part - will always display the super-group's label.

So ... for EDACS - provided the SAID's text label is blank ... the patch label of the highest ranking member is displayed. If the higher ranking member does not have a patch label - the group label is used.

For two patched groups that tie on priority - the listening priority can be used as a tie breaker. For groups that tie on listen and patch priority - flip a coin.

You can, of course, always click the "Patches" tab to see the patch relationships.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
#7
Done. The patch alias will also assume the color assigned to the group with the highest patch alias priority. What scares me most about this feature is explaining it to a new user.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,087
Location
Shavano Park, TX
#8
Well, you could create an advanced option that enables this feature, otherwise maintain the existing behavior.

For instance, the option could be:

Auto Patch Naming: [yes] no
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top