Unitrunker won't decode 800 Motorola Analog System

Status
Not open for further replies.

garys

Premium Subscriber
I moved this from the Software Defined Radio forum per the suggestion of Unitrunker. Since I'm new to this, I didn't even know there was a trunking control channel decoding forum.

Well, this has me a bit baffled.

I have SDR# with trunking support running and feeding data to Unitrunker. Unitrunker will decode the various 93x.xxxx analog Motorola trunks in my area. Surprisingly, it even decodes the 77x.xxxx Motorola P25 trunk that the MA State Police is building. What it won't do is decode the MSP 800 Mhz analog trunk. Or rather it will when it feels like it, which isn't often. OTOH, Trunk88 decodes that same data like a champ. I get all sorts of data from that.

I'm running VBCable to feed everything. Everything being Trunk88, Unitrunker, DSDPlus, and DMRDecode. I think the problem is with my Unitrunker (1.27) set up, but I can't think of another parameter to change.

Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?

SCPD

QRT
There is also a voice decoding forum. You may want to check that out, too.

Unitrunker includes a diagnostic tool called UniScope that gives us a good picture of what's happening. Unfortunately, UniScope only works with audio input devices. Since you're running SDR#, we can use that to get a visual impression of the signal (and the general RF neighborhood).

In you can, please post a screenshot of SDR# with a "good" signal (good decode rate) and another screenshot of SDR# with a "bad" one (poor or no decoding).

garys

Premium Subscriber
I can do that. I think you want screen shots of the Uniscope with both good and bad (or no) decoding. I have looked at Uniscope and to my eye, the undecoded signal looks good. OTOH, the decoded signal on the P25 system looks bad. That's probably apples and oranges I know, but I found it odd. I can give you a screen shot of the non decoded 800 system and a decoded 900 system.