Upgrade of HPD radios may wait 5 years

Status
Not open for further replies.

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
leawoodcops said:
I mean do you think Harris County and Montgomery County will go to the Pro Voice system one day?
First, the Montgomery County system is already ProVoice capable.

STARNet is way too ingrained to change to the a MA-COM system at this stage.

As for the article, this same subject comes up whenever a reporter has nothing else to say. It has been hashed and rehashed several times in the last 5 years. It is interesting that Ms Ruiz first claims there is not direct connection then talks about gateways/patches and then says they are not instantaneous. Well I guess yes, both units desiring to talk have to change channels but I think they would have to do that in any case. HPD to SpecalOps (Ch 7) and a STARNet user to TG 6544 (didn't that used to be patched to CityWide Ch 5?).

It is not laziness, ineptitude, or expense. I am not an engineer, but I am a pretty good observer; notice that the largest metro areas here in the US do not use trunking systems for their regular Law Enf activity (4 of the top 4 and #5 is none too happy with their recent switch (Phoenix)). There probably is a pretty good reason for that and I think that Ms Ruiz and others of her ilk need to get out and do some real research for a story instead of column fill nonsense on slow news days. :mad:

bpckty1

"notice that the largest metro areas here in the US do not use trunking systems for their regular Law Enf activity (4 of the top 4 and #5 is none too happy with their recent switch (Phoenix)). There probably is a pretty good reason for that and I think that Ms Ruiz and others of her ilk need to get out and do some real research for a story instead of column fill nonsense on slow news days."