Using FCC Data and Google Earth to aid in scanning in the Twin Cities

Status
Not open for further replies.

Capella

Premium Subscriber
I'm new to scanning in the Mpls/St Paul area and to get a better understanding of RF environment I created a KML file that displays data from the FCC's database in Google Earth. With that map I then use the Radio Reference database for a deep dive into the individual users, control channels, talkgroups, etc.

For those interested, the attached pdf file steps you through the process of searching the FCC database, cutting/pasting the data into a spreadsheet, cleaning up the spreadsheet, importing the spreadsheet into Google Earth Pro, and then saving the resultant file as a kml or kmz file so that you can view it at your leisure.

Hope this helps

Attachments

• Quick Start Guide Creating a Google Earth KML file from FCC Data.pdf
    109.6 KB · Views: 74

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
Thanks for posting the "HOW TO", went through it and found it easy to understand and was able to build a Google Earth file to show the frequencies near where I live in a matter of minutes. Really appreciate the work you put into this and you sharing it with us.

Just wish your POST title didn't say Twin Cities, as I think others around the country may think it isn"t interesting for the since they don't live in the area. Thanks again!

Capella

Premium Subscriber
Thanks for the note. I looked through the various forums and couldn't find a good fit so I posted it to the MN forum using the Mall of America (just down the street from me) as the example.

But as time permits I do plan on updating (adding additional FCC data) and will see if another forum might be more suitable.

Thanks again for the comments.

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
Thanks for the note. I looked through the various forums and couldn't find a good fit so I posted it to the MN forum using the Mall of America (just down the street from me) as the example.