Using the Ham Radio as a lifeline

Status
Not open for further replies.

Borderland420

I've read that these radios can be used as a lifeline in times of need. How are they used as lifelines and will anybody tell me about how they used a ham radio at some point for insight at a time when in need of some sort of guidance, encouragement or referral? I am new to the ham radio lifestyle so I'm still becoming familiar with all of these concepts.

KD8DVR

You need to study for and get your license.

AntiSquid Disclaimer: All comments are personal opinion only and may not indicate a claim of actual fact.

jaspence

Premium Subscriber
Use a cell phone, but when you have no coverage, a ham radio is a good choice. A local ham here in the Midwest actually alerted the Coast Guard on the east coast to a ship emergency call heard on ham radio. Check the ARRL web site for information and study material for your license.

Delta33

I would not rely on any radio as a lifeline, use a cell phone and 911. There is no guarantee that another amateur operator will be monitoring any given frequency.
I agree with this too. Amateur radio as a alternate method is fine.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
I've read that these radios can be used as a lifeline in times of need. How are they used as lifelines and will anybody tell me about how they used a ham radio at some point for insight at a time when in need of some sort of guidance, encouragement or referral? I am new to the ham radio lifestyle so I'm still becoming familiar with all of these concepts.

If you need a life line, as in a life or death emergency, then you need a PLB (Personal Locator Beacon). They are like an EPRIB used on a ship or aircraft and will signal a rescue coordination center and let them know you need immediate help. The PLB will send your GPS derived position and someone will come looking for you.
Other option would be the "Spot" brand units, which are similar subscription based device.