• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Va. State Police Divison2

Status
Not open for further replies.

amick614

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
15
Location
Winchester,Va.
New to this ...hope I do it correctly.......interested in control channel freqs. for div.2 of Va. State Police....not quite understanding the freq. guide......I did program in the freqs. listed fir the mobile site in Richmond no transmissions heard ......at this point I am only logging in control channels in my uni den 996 help!!!!!
 

wmbio

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
174
Location
Cumberland, Md
I'm In Cumberland MD, and using the 161.825, 161.8275 control channels for Culpeper.
Working great this far north... I have a freescan file if you need it, PM my sig.

PS...whom ever is keeping the map updated...looks good!

Enjoy
Wmbio
 
Last edited:

amick614

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
15
Location
Winchester,Va.
Thanks for both responses...however when I enter thes freqs.......scanner is telling me the are out of band>>>>more help needed!!!!
 

gcgrotz

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
2,091
Location
Charlottesville
I had no idea there was a site on High Top in Nelson County. I don't think there was ever an analog site there. Should help coverage a lot, I see I will have to upgrade my STARS programming!

Thanks to everyone for all the hard work.
 

trainman111

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
1,021
Location
Henrico, VA
When I drove from Richmond to Clifton Forge a few weeks ago, my scanner locked on the High Top Mtn site from just west of Clifton Forge to just north of Buena Vista. Definitely covered a nice gap from before when I didn't have that site programmed.
 

amick614

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
15
Location
Winchester,Va.
I would love to have any help I can.....I feel so outdated like a "Dinosaur" so to speak and everybody keeps mentioning free scan......I do not know what is is(have idea) or how it works many thanks to the people who are answering my questions and helping me out....Tony
 

wmbio

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
174
Location
Cumberland, Md
Read the WIKI first...FreeScan User Guide - The RadioReference Wiki

You will need to download the free program from the Wiki link, install it on your PC then you can connect your Uniden scanner to your PC's serial port with the cable supplied in the box ...The program is pretty simple and easy to use. I'm about as smart as Fred Flintstone so your not alone, just take it slowly...Ask your questions here at RR someone will help you.

Enjoy
Wmbio
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top