Very Newb Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdiphoto

Live in Winnebago County, Illinois. Illinois using the Starcomm 25 system (?) I'm a photographer being asked to respond to fire, and possibly soon, police calls for publicity photos. I have a 20+ year old Bearcat Scanner, gets fire calls now, but poorly. Want better reception, and the ability to receive police should I get the go ahead on that.

So I purchased a BCD396XT from Amazon. I thought I read somewhere that it's good for the Illinois Starcomm 25 (same as P25?) system. I just want to be sure. below are the features listed from Uniden's website. More there than I'll probably ever need, but I don't care, as long as I get the calls I need to hear.

Now I just read something on another post here that suggests maybe I should cancel this and order the BCD325P2??? This is the FIRST I've heard of that. Any help at all would be GREATLY APPRECIATED.

Thank you so much!

The BCD396XT comes equipped with Uniden exclusive features like Advanced Dynamic Memory System, Close Call RF Capture Technology, and GPS compatibility.

TrunkTracker IV (Motorola APCO 25 Digital, Motorola, EDACS, LTR) - Lets you monitor all of the major types of communications systems used by public safety, local government, amateur radio operators, and more.
25000 Dynamically Allocated Channels - Room for all your local systems and more.
Close Call® RF Capture Technology - Instantly tunes to signals from nearby transmitters
Location-Based Scanning - Connect an optional GPS for automatic channel selection.
Continuous Band Coverage - 25MHz to 1.3GHz Excluding UHF TV and Cellular
Alpha Tagging
100 Quick Key System Access
Band Scope - Graphically finds radio activity
Compact Size
Audio AGC
Automatic Digital Threshold Adjustment
Temporary Lockout - Lets you temporarily lockout noisy channels.
Search with Scan
NAC Decoding - for conventional P25 channels