Vxr-7000 out of band durability and HAM BAND ?'s

Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
2
Location
Santa Ana , CA
#1
Hello everyone this is my first post here ive been lurking bat labs and radio reference for a while now.
i have a vxr 7000 ua and i have taken it out of band using the dealer mode. (-d")

now what i have programmed on my repeated is 430 rx 435 tx . i have adjusted the tx power amount to 127 (maximum) and i am getting 24 watts out of it and my rx is -99db.

now my question is....
how can i get the full use of the range of my repeater in this ham band.
is there possibly a mod i can do to the vco or anything at all short of using a amplifier.

any other links and suggestions are extremely helpful.
i can post screen shots or any information if needed.

Thank you all for your time.
It is appreciated!
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,202
Location
Texas
#2
I've never moved them that far out. They will destroy themselves if the antenna goes bad but that's all I know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Messages
756
#4
The VXR-7000 holds up well and works well within it design range. Most people I know that modify them or try to add amplifiers, retune, and other mods tend to end up with a repeater that fails after a year of use or so.

I kept mine stock and used in the middle of their ranges, VHF and UHF versions, and they worked very well.

One still lives in a mold infested building extending UHF comms a few miles quite well.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
2
Location
Santa Ana , CA
#5
oh i forgot to mention this is the vxr-7000 UA. so the split is 400 to 430.
so im not moving downwards 20 mhz but moving up 5 mhz.
thank you guys for your help so far. also any idea what the turning feature is in the rx adjust area.
i cannot find documentation for that option.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
525
#6
You may get some vco stability issues tuned outside its range.

And I wouldn't run more than 20 watts on ham service due to long rag chews
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
7
Location
TURKIYE
#7
I Need Help

Hello,
My name is Korhan and I'm a ham radio op. My callsign is TA5FW.
I want to buy a Vertex Standart VXR-7000 UHF Desktop Repeater but I can't setup in ham radio frequency.
Our repeater freq. Tx:439.150Mhz Rx:431.550Mhz

When I input freq. from keyboard, Just 440-455 freq. range is possible input to pc app.

Now, I need to your special technical experiments and support please.

Best regards,

73 TA5FW

E-Mail: ta5fw@korhanbuken.com.tr
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,062
Location
So Cali
#8
using the dealer mode. (-d")


Hello,
My name is Korhan and I'm a ham radio op. My callsign is TA5FW.
I want to buy a Vertex Standart VXR-7000 UHF Desktop Repeater but I can't setup in ham radio frequency.
Our repeater freq. Tx:439.150Mhz Rx:431.550Mhz

When I input freq. from keyboard, Just 440-455 freq. range is possible input to pc app.

Now, I need to your special technical experiments and support please.

Best regards,

73 TA5FW

E-Mail: ta5fw@korhanbuken.com.tr
 
Top