VXR-7000

FLMedia

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
48
Location
Oxnard, CA
#1
Trying to program 2 VXR-7000's that I just found. I am using an old Windows 2000 laptop with the CE27 1.8 US firmware.
I am also using a USB not a Serial cable.
When I try to read or even write a code plug to the repeater it gives me an Error. I am on the correct COM port but not sure what else it could be.
Possibly the cable? Should I have ordered a Serial instead of a USB?

Help me please!!! Thank you
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
2,741
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
#3
Why not use the modern supported Windows based CPS? If you're trying to use an old version under DOS, it's not going to play nice with a USB to RS232 dongle.


The latest CE-27 CPS is out there. Runs on modern PCs and WinXP/7/8/10 natively.
 

chief21

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
803
Location
Summer - western NC mountains; Winter - central
#4
More info - Just found these footnotes in the VX7000 manual and thought that the info might be helpful (especially the second note):

Important Note!

Do not run the CE27 programming software directly
from the original distribution diskette.
Copy the programming software to your
computer's hard disk, then run the software from
the hard disk only. Keep the original distribution
diskette in a safe place in case you need to
make another copy of it at a later date.

Before creating the programming data for your
VXR-7000 via the CE27 programming software,
upload the current factory hardware environment
data from the VXR-7000, using the [F5]
(ReadRom) command. Use this data profile to
create the programming data for this repeater.
 

FLMedia

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
48
Location
Oxnard, CA
#5
You guys are awesome!!! So downloaded the updated Version 1.8 for windows and installed it on my Windows 10 desktop. and IT WORKS!!!! wow now I can stop stressing lol.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
2,741
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
#6
The Windows version of CE for VXR is so much easier to navigate than the ancient DOS based CE27. No headaches of trying to get ancient hardware to survive either.


FYI if you need wideband, just download the "international" version and it won't try to force narrowband on you (for ham applications of course).
 

FLMedia

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
48
Location
Oxnard, CA
#7
The Windows version of CE for VXR is so much easier to navigate than the ancient DOS based CE27. No headaches of trying to get ancient hardware to survive either.


FYI if you need wideband, just download the "international" version and it won't try to force narrowband on you (for ham applications of course).
Thank you for that info! I'll keep that in mind. It looks like there is an Ethernet cable plug on the rear of these 7000's. Is that used for connecting over internet or is that used as another port for programming?
 
Top