• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Watch the Android/Amazon Stores for Siren

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,128
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
#21
My only problem is that I get "Waiting for Scanner" every 6-10 seconds. I'm presuming network congestion, since I have about a dozen computers and half that many again smartphones and tablets on the LAN.

Sometime this weekend I'll try AP mode on the scanner and see how that behaves.
 

scandoggy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
10
#22
Using Siren App with Android in Vehicle

Yep, the Access Point mode seems to be the only possibility for a direct connect from the phone to the scanner in a vehicle unless you want to set up a Wifi network in your vehicle, which I suppose is possible. I will try the AP mode and see if I can get it to work. If so, will post the results.
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,575
Location
Eastern MA
#24
I get the same thing, and assume it's for a similar reason. 3 smart TVs, Ipad, iPhone, two laptops, Android phone.

I hope someone can figure out AP mode, mobile use is one of the things I've been waiting for.

My only problem is that I get "Waiting for Scanner" every 6-10 seconds. I'm presuming network congestion, since I have about a dozen computers and half that many again smartphones and tablets on the LAN.

Sometime this weekend I'll try AP mode on the scanner and see how that behaves.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2006
Messages
90
Location
Kanab, UT
#25
AP mode was working with my phone last time I played with it(a few months ago). It's not working now for me. You can set up your phone as a hotspot and connect the scanner to it right now. I leave my hotspot on all the time and use it as a router in my truck anyway.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
1,268
#28
So the big question:
What does this do for you that you can not also accomplish with ProScan and Splashtop or the new Control Software for the Whistler scanners and Splashtop - aside from the fact that those programs require the scanner to be connected to a PC?
 

mancow

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
5,839
Location
N.E. Kansas
#29
It runs natively on the device which is a much cleaner approach and easier to manipulate on a mobile device like a phone or tablet.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
#31
My initial test resulting in alot of clipped and fading audio when in scan mode. If I lock on a talkgroup, the audio is better. It's similar too (but worse than) the "immediate" clipping/darkening of the back light and recordings upon lack/loss of voice - only for the app, any momentary pause in a voice in the middle of a conversation results in the signal being dropped. Re-acquisition of the voice then gets clipped also.
 

Anderegg

Enter text in this field
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,542
Location
San Diego
#32
I installed and it opened up forcing landscape mode only........is that something that can be changed or selected as portrait? I've already got a PulsePoint app that forces portrait mode and will not view in landscape.

Paul
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
1,877
Location
High Bridge, NJ
#34
I had been using the beta version for a while now. For the last 2 weeks I have been using it as a remote head in my car using an old Nexus 4 phone. As a remote head it has been working great and the 4 inch phone screen is actually a bit larger than the Home Patrol.

Some things I did to improve my performance:

1) Do a clean system flash, do not go to Android 6, stay on 5.1 (6 won't want to connect to the AP because there won't be any internet access).

2) install Siren

3) Root the phone, remove or freeze as many system apps as possible with Titanium Backup. Freeze google play services but do not remove, in case you need to update siren in the future.

4) Put in airplane mode, then turn on wifi. This will put your battery drain down to almost nothing when you aren't using it (if you don't feel like turning it off).

When I did the above steps and let the phone just sit for a week, I only lost about 1-3% of battery a day.
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,575
Location
Eastern MA
#36
That's fine, I guess, if you have a spare phone or tablet you want to use for Siren. I'd guess that most people are going to have to use their existing phone, though.

The problem I and others are having is connecting to the scanner via Access Point mode. The scanner is set up for that, so obviously Uniden expects that to be an option.



I had been using the beta version for a while now. For the last 2 weeks I have been using it as a remote head in my car using an old Nexus 4 phone. As a remote head it has been working great and the 4 inch phone screen is actually a bit larger than the Home Patrol.

Some things I did to improve my performance:

1) Do a clean system flash, do not go to Android 6, stay on 5.1 (6 won't want to connect to the AP because there won't be any internet access).

2) install Siren

3) Root the phone, remove or freeze as many system apps as possible with Titanium Backup. Freeze google play services but do not remove, in case you need to update siren in the future.

4) Put in airplane mode, then turn on wifi. This will put your battery drain down to almost nothing when you aren't using it (if you don't feel like turning it off).

When I did the above steps and let the phone just sit for a week, I only lost about 1-3% of battery a day.
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,575
Location
Eastern MA
#37
Why would you need to do that? My phone connects to my router fine, my scanner connects to my router fine. I put the IP address for the scanner into Siren and connect with no problem in Infrastructure mode.

Don't forget that for internet access you need to open a port on your router.
 

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,039
Location
So Far Away....
#39
So...How long for a work around to make this chooch with the 436...I mean, there's USB & Serial ports
on the side already..
Just pontificating..Out of slight Jealousy perhaps..
 

wbswetnam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,563
Location
DMR-istan
#40
And to think that I almost tossed out the dongle in disgust... now I can listen to the scanner while I'm out on my morning 5 mile runs. (smirk - just kidding about morning runs - I wish I had that kind of discipline)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top