• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Well here's my small shack.

Status
Not open for further replies.

IdleMonitor

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
2,377
Location
The Ottawa Valley - Eastern Ontario
Yes, that's exactly what it's for. To hold the pole up. And as you can, I don't have a lot of space to work with for it, but the screws are put in far enough and it doesn't barely move with the wind.

hoser147 said:
Nice Shack, what are the brackets on the eve of the house, for the mast??? Hoser
 

IdleMonitor

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
2,377
Location
The Ottawa Valley - Eastern Ontario
It's just a regular steel pole that's yellow....my old landlord, had it sitting in his parking lot and asked if I could take it, he said sure. It's about 10-12 feet long I think, and on top of a roof, so all in all, the antenna is up about 30-40 ft. I think.

R1VINCE said:
where did you get that COOL yellow mast? i want 1!!
 

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,439
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
IdleMonitor said:
Yes, that's exactly what it's for. To hold the pole up. And as you can, I don't have a lot of space to work with for it, but the screws are put in far enough and it doesn't barely move with the wind.
I was asking what kind of brackets are they like clamps for conduit or pipe? Thanks hoser
 

EncryptionMan

Member
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
45
Thats exactly what they look like Hoser, conduit clamps.

Id ditch the electrical tape for wire ties as the tape will dry up, become hard and fail.

If you flip the antenna around the cable will be on the same side and be a straight shot down :) Might look alot better.

Also does the pole touch the ground? May want to bang some type of post into the dirt and secure the pole to that so its not 100% dependeant on what appears to be two small clamps.
 

IdleMonitor

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
2,377
Location
The Ottawa Valley - Eastern Ontario
The electrical tape works just fine. The picture is my first installment of it, I've had to take it down since and put new coax on there, so I've put more tape on. It works so I'm not going to change it. It's been through one winter with no problems.

Not sure what you're meaning by the second point.

No, the pole doesn't touch the ground. I live above a business and the pole is on top of it's roof which is just outside my living room, I was worried at first with the clamps, but really, it's been through one summer that had fairly high winds and a hell of a winter and everything was just fine. Suprisingly, it ain't moving anywhere.

Thanks for the suggestions though.

EncryptionMan said:
Thats exactly what they look like Hoser, conduit clamps.

Id ditch the electrical tape for wire ties as the tape will dry up, become hard and fail.

If you flip the antenna around the cable will be on the same side and be a straight shot down :) Might look alot better.

Also does the pole touch the ground? May want to bang some type of post into the dirt and secure the pole to that so its not 100% dependeant on what appears to be two small clamps.
 

af5rn

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
1,059
Location
N. Tex / S. Fla
IdleMonitor said:
The electrical tape works just fine. The picture is my first installment of it, I've had to take it down since and put new coax on there, so I've put more tape on. It works so I'm not going to change it. It's been through one winter with no problems.
Famous last words.

Everything works just fine... right up to the point it FAILS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top