• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

whats the best base antennae for out in the country

Status
Not open for further replies.

rafale01010

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
74
Location
Perry
I am in the "country" to a point, about 15miles from town,between Hawkinsville and Perry, and was wondering what antennae would do me good for scanning at the house with my Pro-96. I would prefer it to be around $50 and no more than $70 if possible.
 

btritch

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
Yep, I just ordered me one....Thinking about using RG 6 or the other cable I asked about in another thread earlier...I'm really leaning toward it since I already have it, Scantenna is supposed to have a 100 mile range though I'd definately check in on it.

73's
 

rafale01010

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
74
Location
Perry
Never mind, i just saw a picture of it. will it just connect to my scanner with no extra stuff needed?
 

k8mcn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
240
Location
Old Monroe,MO
rafale01010 said:
Never mind, i just saw a picture of it. will it just connect to my scanner with no extra stuff needed?
The scantenna usually comes with a 300ohm lead, an adapter that reduces it down to 75ohms, a 50 foot length of coax with f connectors on both ends, and an f to BNC adaptor so you will be ready to just plug it into your scanner and start monitoring. (as long as your scanner accepts a BNC)
 

thewenk

Idaho DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
639
Location
Eastern Idaho
hoser147 said:
http://wiki.radioreference.com/images/8/8c/Reinforcescantenna.jpg If you decide to go with the scantenna this link is to beef it up so as not to have wind damage...........Hoser
Why not buy something that is well built in the first place and then you don't have to worry about beefing it up? My experience with the Scantenna is it's not so great as to expend all that extra effort on it.

Dave
 
Last edited:

Airdorn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
428
I've had a scantenna without any kind of reinforcement mod done to it, for about 4 years now. God that thing is a great antenna.

And we get some pretty terrible winds here.. it hasn't fallen apart YET!

I used the 50' of feedline. Great performer. This weekend, I'm taking out the wire that came with it and putting in LMR-400.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top