• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

WS1095: Ws1098 scanlist names

Status
Not open for further replies.

W8WCL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
26
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
#1
Hi,

On my WS1098 I have a bunch of scanlists, that I modified, with names other than "Scanlist ##". When I go into scan mode the SCANLIST ## is displayed as the scanlists are scanned instead of the edited name. (IE Scanlist 156 shows up instead of "Fire Disp".

Doesn't do this on my TRX-1. Don't see any parameter wrong in the software.

Any help would be appreciated!

Bill ....W8WCL
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
584
Location
Gettysburg, Pa
#2
From main menu
Arrow down to "scanlist"
Right arrow to select
Arrow down to find the label name
Right arrow on the name
Change name
Select ok......
 

W8WCL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
26
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
#3
Updated the programming software today. (Just released today) This might have broke something like the "Set Location" function. The software shows the edited scanlist name but shows up as "Scanlist XX" when it gets written to the radio.
 

W8WCL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
26
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
#5
Thanks for the reply. What you are saying is true if I want to set each one thru the scanner manually. It should be picking this up from the software. It did before I updated the programming software today.
 

sparklehorse

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
1,083
Location
Portland, Oregon
#7
FWIW, I'm having the same problem with my TRX-2 after updating EZ-Scan today. I updated the CPU, DSP and Library as well. The scanner actually holds my custom Scanlist tags and works OK until I go into the menus for some reason, then it crap$ the bed. Scan list names are changed to be generic, same as yours, but also I will get an error screen I can't recover from. The radio becomes a brick. I tried re-formatting the card but, the problem comes right back. Something is up somewhere with today's updates, but it seems not everyone is affected.

.
 

gh6406

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2013
Messages
110
Location
Dalton,Ga
#8
Scanlist Names

Yes, the new update has messed up something. Seeing this in other posts. Maybe they jumped the gun on the NXDN Update?
 

W8WCL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
26
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
#9
..... also not able to update the firmware after the last programming software update. The software sees the SD card but does not see the radio.
 

W8WCL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
26
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
#10
WS1098 Scanlist Names

Going back to the old programming software and old archive code plug did not work either. Something happened to the radio that probably needs to be fixed in the firmware.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top