• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

XPR7550 Voice Announcement

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
36
Location
Stroudsburg, PA
#1
Does anyone have any experience programming the voice announcement for the XPR7550? I have all my individual channel names recorded in .wav format and the web says the CPS will convert those files into .mva files. When I point my CPS to the folder that contains these .wav files I get an error that says not compatible file type. What am i doing wrong guys?
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
706
Location
CT
#2
If it is anything like the XTL/XTS series, the wav files must be a specific size and type.

Less than 58K in size, saved as 8.0 kHz, 16 bit, mono. I have not tried the XPR series and I did not see anything in the help file about that but it may be worth a shot.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
36
Location
Stroudsburg, PA
#4
I switched to a different recording program and for some reason, that fixed the problem. I now have custom channel voice announcement! Thank you.
 

Anderegg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,524
Location
San Diego
#5
Which recording program did you end up using? I use the stock VA files for my XPR7350's, but would like custom audio files.

Paul
 
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
24
Location
Bolivar, MO
#6
I used to fight with voice announcements, then broke down and got the text to voice entitlement. Best $10 bucks I've ever spent on radio stuff.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
 

Kirk

DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
778
#7
I used to fight with voice announcements, then broke down and got the text to voice entitlement. Best $10 bucks I've ever spent on radio stuff.
I couldn't agree more. I've done it for all three of my XPR radios and it's amazing.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2014
Messages
73
Location
Sønderborg, Denmark
#8
The Text to Speech license is great. Works like a treat.

However, for my customers who don't want to spend the extra money, I use TRBOnet's text-to-speech facility to record messages.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
16
Location
brooklyn ny
#11
worked but new problem

If it is anything like the XTL/XTS series, the wav files must be a specific size and type.

Less than 58K in size, saved as 8.0 kHz, 16 bit, mono. I have not tried the XPR series and I did not see anything in the help file about that but it may be worth a shot.
I had the same issue and this answer helped me load the file into the radio but for some reason the file doesn't work on the radio...

I tried loading a recording of the ex-600 alert tones into the XPR7550 so I can use it for my alert tone but the file does not work on the radio (it works on the computer)
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
706
Location
CT
#12
Here's a video I made showing how to create voice files for APX....same concept:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Das9WsZMAmQ

I am not sure but aren't Text-to-Speech and voice files for channel announcements different? I though text-to-speech meant the radio would read a received text message out loud. I do not have that installed in my XPR7550. The channel announcement work fine with the enhancement.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2014
Messages
73
Location
Sønderborg, Denmark
#13
Text-to-Speech can override the voice announcement facility, so for example, if you select Text-to-Speech for Voice Announcements, and you have a channel that you've named "Security", when you select that channel the radio will say "Security" automatically for you without you having to upload a .wav file.
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
706
Location
CT
#14
Text-to-Speech can override the voice announcement facility, so for example, if you select Text-to-Speech for Voice Announcements, and you have a channel that you've named "Security", when you select that channel the radio will say "Security" automatically for you without you having to upload a .wav file.
So it will announce the channel name as entered in CPS without the need to create a voice file?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2014
Messages
73
Location
Sønderborg, Denmark
#16
Yes. Within the limitations of it's understanding of the language you've installed.

Although it has a table where you can edit words that Text to Speech can't understand or pronounce.

For example, we use the work "bakkie" here instead of "pickup truck", and if I receive a text about a "bakkie", the Text to Speech pronounces it as "backkey" which is not the correct pronunciation. So I have edited the table to pronounce "bakkie" as "bucky", and now if someone texts me the word "bakkie", my radio will say "bucky", which is the correct pronunciation.
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
706
Location
CT
#18
A problem with text-to-speech that I see is your speech is limited to the characters on the screen. If I understand this, you could not announce "new york police, channel 1". It must be limited to the 16 character channel name?
 
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
24
Location
Bolivar, MO
#19
A problem with text-to-speech that I see is your speech is limited to the characters on the screen. If I understand this, you could not announce "new york police, channel 1". It must be limited to the 16 character channel name?
That is actually the beauty of the pronunciation table. You could set "NYPD" in your table to be pronounced "New York Police." I use text to speech extensively and the major benefit I find is that crews in the field can more easily understand some of my abreviations.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
 

Phillipsc84

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
263
Location
Fort Mill, SC
#20
Followup question to this topic, if you have the Text to speech option installed at set up is there not a way to program a button to play the channel name at will? I know it plays it on the channel change and to my understanding there is a "Voice Announcement" button option but it seems to do nothing when pressed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top