• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Yaesu FT-1900R or FT-2900R?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#1
Hello all, I was wondering which of these two mobile radios would be the better one, The Yaesu FT-1900R or the Yaesu FT-2900R.

I have heard that the FT-1900R has better sensitivity but more problems with heat displacement, and I have heard that the FT-2900R has the opposite of that.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,042
Location
Point Nemo.
#2
My brother has a 1900R and he has been happy with it. Unless you are going to be talking a LOT on it, I doubt you'll need to worry to much about the heat issue. Be careful not to bury it under other equipment, or other place where the passive cooling won't work. If you are really concerned, you could use a small fan on the heat sink to cool it down, however with normal use I doubt that would be necessary.

I'd go for the better sensitivity.
 

ScanWI

MN & WI DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Messages
822
Location
Wisconsin
#3
The only real difference is the power output, both are great radios. I think the 2900 is a slightly better radio mainly for the heat issues, but as long as the radio is well ventilated it will be fine. If you can I would go with the Ft-2900 and I think you will be really happy.
 

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#4
Well I currently don't need 75 watts of power and plus you have to take into account the MPE rules to, so am learning more towards the FT-1900R.

Also what would be the best power supply for that radio? Its is 13.8 VDC at 11 amps, I really don't need anything fancy and expensive.

Would any of these power supplies be good?

Ham Radio Outlet | ASTRON RS-20A | 20 AMP 13.8 VDC REGULATED POWER SUPPLY

Ham Radio Outlet | Powerwerx SS-30DV | 13.8V 25 CONTINUOUS 30 AMP PEAK 110/220 SWITCHING PS

Ham Radio Outlet | MFJ MFJ-4128 | 28 AMP SWITCHING PS 13.8V

Ham Radio Outlet | MFJ MFJ-4225MV | 25A ADJ SWITCHING PS 110/220V

Am looking for a power supply that the radio power cords can just connect/plug-into, and then in turn the power supply plugs into a wall plug (AC power) Or do all power supplies do that?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
5,295
Location
In the 'patch
#5
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9780; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.600 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

kc0wkp said:
The only real difference is the power output, both are great radios. I think the 2900 is a slightly better radio mainly for the heat issues, but as long as the radio is well ventilated it will be fine. If you can I would go with the Ft-2900 and I think you will be really happy.
But you will not see any "longer talk distance" using 75w over 50w it is only 1.5db more, which is really equates to zip
 

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#6
Thanks for the replys so far, for a power supply would the Astron RS-20A listed in the links I posted be a good power supply for the FT-1900R? The FT-1900R is 13.8 VDC at 11 amps and that power supply is 16 amps continous and 20 amps surge.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
5,295
Location
In the 'patch
#7
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9780; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.600 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

Rt169Radio said:
Thanks for the replys so far, for a power supply would the Astron RS-20A listed in the links I posted be a good power supply for the FT-1900R? The FT-1900R is 13.8 VDC at 11 amps and that power supply is 16 amps continous and 20 amps surge.
Should be. Most ham gear current specs are on the high side. With a properly tuned antenna you should current draw should not be over 10A. I had my FT-8800 on a cigarette lighter plug, with a 10A fuse never popped the fuse, even when transmitting @ 50w.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,751
Location
Burlington County, NJ
#8
Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_3; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.16 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0 Safari/533.16)

Unless the products have changed in quality or design, the Astron supplies are quite good. I'm still using their 50a and 20a supplies that I bought c.1980. I had a 175w amp and 25w 2m radio on the former, hung all the d.c.-capable receivers and accessories on the latter. Both supplies loaf along at a small percentage of the rated amperage. You may want to use the Anderson Powerpole connectors between the ps and radio. HTH.
 
Last edited:

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#9
Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_3; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.16 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0 Safari/533.16)

Unless the products have changed in quality or design, the Astron supplies are quite good. I'm still using their 50a and 20a supplies that I bought c.1980. I had a 175w amp and 25w 2m radio on the former, hung all the d.c.-capable receivers and accessories on the latter. Both supplies loaf along at a small percentage of the rated amperage. You may want to use the Anderson Powerpole connectors between the ps and radio. HTH.
What would the powerpole connectors do?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,012
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
#10
What would the powerpole connectors do?
If you have several radios, & power supplies, it makes connecting, & swapping radios to power supplies a snap. Quick & easy. While many people like them, there are many who don't, including myself. I prefer to use the connecters that come supplied with the Icom, Kenwood, & Yaesu radios. They can be purchased cheaply at hamfests, or online, & I prefer to use them.
 

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#11
If you have several radios, & power supplies, it makes connecting, & swapping radios to power supplies a snap. Quick & easy. While many people like them, there are many who don't, including myself. I prefer to use the connecters that come supplied with the Icom, Kenwood, & Yaesu radios. They can be purchased cheaply at hamfests, or online, & I prefer to use them.
Okay, well since only one radio will be using the power supply I guess those powerpole connectors will not be needed.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,751
Location
Burlington County, NJ
#12
Okay, well since only one radio will be using the power supply I guess those powerpole connectors will not be needed.
Right. But I read the statement to mean you'd be moving the radio between, say, house and mobile. That's why I mentioned the Powerpoles. Back when I started I used the polarized Cinch-Jones connectors... HTH.
 

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#13
That Astron RS-20A, does it plug into a wall plug? (AC power) And how does the radio (FT-1900R) connect to the power supply?
 

Rt169Radio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
2,782
Location
CT
#15
When you buy the radio, a power cord comes with it. This cord either connects to the 12 volt battery in the car, or the power terminals on the power supply.
Okay, and just to make sure the power supply runs off a wall plug?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
5,295
Location
In the 'patch
#16
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9780; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.600 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

Yup, 110v in and 12v out. Pretty straight forward. There will be a 115v power cable you plug into an outlet, and a black and red terminal on the power supply. Pretty hard to mess up hooking up the power cable. Red terminal to red wire, black terminal to black wire...
 

ropin4gold

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
Messages
98
Location
Marshall County
#18
I had the 2900 and really liked it. I used it mobile into a 5/8 wave antenna and worked a bunch of repeaters traveling. I like having the extra power, you can always run it on mid or low power if you don't need it.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,440
Location
Uranus
#19
What I've noticed with my 2800 is that if you're on high power and doing a lot of rag chewing the power cord tends to get a little warm (pig tail coming from the radio only) I kinda wished they used heavier gauge wire.

10 amps will work just fine for the 1900, I have two Astron 11Rs and they are nice power supplies.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
181
Location
Kennett Missouri
#20
Hello all, I was wondering which of these two mobile radios would be the better one, The Yaesu FT-1900R or the Yaesu FT-2900R.

I have heard that the FT-1900R has better sensitivity but more problems with heat displacement, and I have heard that the FT-2900R has the opposite of that.
Don't know about the 1900R but I can tell ya my two 2900's wired as a repeater has been running great for right at two years now.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top