Unitrunker Decoding with R820T

Status
Not open for further replies.

aps_ak

Premium Subscriber
I recently purchased an R820T stick, and would like to use it with Unitrunker to decode some control channels (not interested in listening to audio yet).

I set everything up in SDRSharp, got drivers installed and am hearing control channels/FM Broadcast, as well as some conventional analog channels.

I set the R820T on unitrunker as well, am able to get it to run, and I can hear the control channel and see activity on the oscilloscope. I cant get a site window to come up, however, probably because I for some reason can't get a good decode rate. The health jumps up to about 17, and then gradually goes down to zero. I know I should have better reception of the cc than that. I've been using my scanner to decode with Unitrunker for years.

Some articles talk about calibrating the stick. I am a bit confused on how this is done, as I am totally new to the SDR scene. How can I tweak my settings further to make this work?

This is all run on Windows 7. Thanks.

reconrider8

first off what version of unitrunker are you runing? the newer versions dont even need sdr to run just the data in. second you have to go to the config button in sdr and youll see a box thingy marked as ppm this is your calibration number mine runs anywhere from 48-52 but it will vary on computer dongle and the temp around you. youll need to listen to the cc and keep going until it sounds clear maybe skip by 5's until you get close then go up and down a few. it has to be spot on for it to really decode at a good % rate but once you get close it will sound clear but you may still have to walk it a little. then you have to walk around a bit until the dongle gets warm but after that it may be a little tweaking from there on out but for the most part if its staying inside it shouldnt change more then 1 ppm or so.

aps_ak

Premium Subscriber
My unitrunker version is 1.0.28.4.