RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2017, 1:10 AM
Signal-Zero's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fortified Bunker
Posts: 2,158
Default

Give me a T...give me a D...give me a M...give me an A.......


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"We celebrate our independence from the Government, not our dependence on it."
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2017, 2:50 AM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 694
Default

Alert to a specific call page ID number
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2017, 5:27 AM
krokus's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 2,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3obl View Post
Alert to a specific call page ID number
They do alert on specific talkgroups.

Sent via Tapatalk
__________________
Generic radio geek, in southeast Michigan.
PSR-500, TM-742, TM-V71,TH-78, HTX-420, IC-2AT, IC-2E (clone), Pro-39, BC-235XLT, TK-290, XTS-5000
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2017, 9:54 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hanover, VA
Posts: 55
Default

Correct the issue where the unit skips transmissions if it misses the channel grant. This situation happens as much as 20% of the time for me. Confirmed by two scanners and Pro96Com logs.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2017, 10:09 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bletchley Park
Posts: 1,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimf View Post
Correct the issue where the unit skips transmissions if it misses the channel grant. This situation happens as much as 20% of the time for me. Confirmed by two scanners and Pro96Com logs.
I concur. Late entry would be a good fix.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2017, 4:49 PM
wizard of odd
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krokus View Post
They do alert on specific talkgroups.

Sent via Tapatalk
Maybe he means radio ID page.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2017, 7:38 AM
ffemtrfc1's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, Maryland
Posts: 100
Default

Wants: Moto Type II Smartzone

This pager currently ins't compatible with my local County system.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2017, 7:28 PM
jtech48's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: OVB
Posts: 224
Default

Ability to change the MDC ID display from Dec to Hex
__________________
In Flying, Carelessness And Overconfidence Are Usually Far More Dangerous Than Deliberately Accepted Risks
WQOE503
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2017, 4:45 PM
Hooligan's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clark County, Nevada
Posts: 1,044
Default

Maybe this isn't new info, but...

I spoke to a rep at the Unication booth during the International Wireless Communications Expo this week in Las Vegas. P-25 Phase II capability is on the way, but likely not available until this Fall. It will be a software/firmware update that you can download & install, but yes, there will be a cost for it, as Unication had to license the intellectual property.

I also thanked them for their willingness to work with 'scanner-geeks' in addition to public safety members.
__________________
I am the King of All Monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2017, 6:59 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 704
Default

What about those of us that purchased a G4 a year ago for $850 and now there going for $650. At the time a Phase II update was coming soon and would be free. Now a person can buy one and the update and end up paying less than I did with out PII. This makes a lot of sense. !! Shouldn't the gini- pigs be grandfathered in for PII?
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2017, 7:13 PM
Signal-Zero's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fortified Bunker
Posts: 2,158
Default

I think us early purchasers should be "beta-testers" for Phase II.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"We celebrate our independence from the Government, not our dependence on it."
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2017, 2:57 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 6,678
Default

Hopefully, none of this is just something I haven't figured out how to do yet (I am only 2+ days into using the radio and software). I know it's a pager so I'm try hard not to push to many requests that sound like scanner features (but I do list some).

Radio
  • TDMA
  • Correct "sluggishness" when changing switch positions (seems to get more and more sluggish as more programming is added)
  • allow mixing of conventional and trunk talkgroups in a single "scan" list
  • ability to export recordings
  • more control over the main screen data for a system talkgroup (i.e. site name vs. RFSS/Site numbers)
  • additional (working?) "wildcard" options (all F's don't seem to work and cannot set Monitor mode via software - only on the radio)
  • ability to select the site (or sites) of a system to monitor without separate or duplicate programming

Programming Software
  • Improved bulk import/cut and paste options for adding system/talkgroup data
  • Improved talkgroup data organization
  • ability to "move" programming around/up/down (zones, switch settings, etc.)
__________________
Unication G4
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800x2,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2017, 5:36 AM
BenScan's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 508
Default

Try right-clicking with your mouse in the programming software, in the zones. You can move entire zones up or down. You can also copy and paste channel position.

There was a beta software program for downloading recordings to your computer. I don't know if they're still sharing that or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post
Hopefully, none of this is just something I haven't figured out how to do yet (I am only 2+ days into using the radio and software). I know it's a pager so I'm try hard not to push to many requests that sound like scanner features (but I do list some).

Radio
  • TDMA
  • Correct "sluggishness" when changing switch positions (seems to get more and more sluggish as more programming is added)
  • allow mixing of conventional and trunk talkgroups in a single "scan" list
  • ability to export recordings
  • more control over the main screen data for a system talkgroup (i.e. site name vs. RFSS/Site numbers)
  • additional (working?) "wildcard" options (all F's don't seem to work and cannot set Monitor mode via software - only on the radio)
  • ability to select the site (or sites) of a system to monitor without separate or duplicate programming

Programming Software
  • Improved bulk import/cut and paste options for adding system/talkgroup data
  • Improved talkgroup data organization
  • ability to "move" programming around/up/down (zones, switch settings, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2017, 5:45 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 6,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenScan View Post
Try right-clicking with your mouse in the programming software, in the zones. You can move entire zones up or down. You can also copy and paste channel position.
Ah - that helps alot... particularly if you programmed without a ton of planning in advance...

So - scratch that one off.

Thanks

EDIT: found recording backup software also
__________________
Unication G4
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800x2,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390

Last edited by troymail; 04-01-2017 at 6:18 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2017, 10:42 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post
[*]Improved bulk import/cut and paste options for adding system/talkgroup data
I haven't found cut/paste to work well at all. How are you importing anything other than .unipps files?
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2017, 10:47 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 6,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ResQguy View Post
I haven't found cut/paste to work well at all. How are you importing anything other than .unipps files?
I'm not really.... just cutting and pasting talkgroup id and talkgroup names one row/cell at a time - and disabling the default tone setting.... very tedious... I'm sure there is (or can be) a better way.... I've now created over 500 talkgroup rows (for multiple systems) one row and cell at a time...
__________________
Unication G4
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800x2,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2017, 10:51 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,007
Default

Ok gotcha, same here. Add to the list the ability to choose +default or +current when adding talkgroups or systems etc like other software does. No need to keep setting fields that are the same for each new line.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2017, 5:07 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,331
Default

Do the G4 / G5 still have no scan delay? So once a talk group carrier drops off, the unit immediately starts scanning so you end up hearing a mixture of unrelated conversations?
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2017, 6:54 PM
Signal-Zero's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fortified Bunker
Posts: 2,158
Default

Scan delay is NOT user defined so yes, if you monitor several talkgroups on a busy system it may scan off to another talkgroup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"We celebrate our independence from the Government, not our dependence on it."
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2017, 7:00 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,331
Default

That really sucks. For me, that basically ruins the scanning. So it's really only good for parking it and monitoring a single talk group. Everyone keeps saying how great these things are, but no one seems to mind the lack of scan delay? Why??
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions