RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 1:39 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,380
Default G1 Long Tone Question

Before I get to my question here is a little background on how things are set up in my county when it comes to tone outs. My county uses Plectron Tones and the timing is 2 seconds by 1 second and 8 seconds for long tones.

My county uses a long tone of 1180 for Weather and Special Announcements. 1180 tone frequency is also used as an A tone for the commercial EMS agencies.

My pager is opening up prematurely when its set for Long Tone, it kind of acts like its set up for single tone instead. Is there a setting that I might be overlooking? Or may I have found a bug in the firmware?
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 1:17 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,380
Default

105 Views and no help?
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 1:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 30
Default

Your on a scanner forum. I would call Unication support.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 1:44 PM
mule1075's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington Pa
Posts: 2,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoWayTim View Post
Your on a scanner forum. I would call Unication support.
This is the Unication forum he posted in.This is not a scanner forum only anymore.Scanner users are more common on radioreference yes but again this is the Unication forum on radioreference.
__________________
Uniden SDS100/780XLT Motorola HT1000/GM360 Whistler TRX-1
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 2:02 PM
troymail's Avatar
Silent Key
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Posts: 9,977
Default

Probably best to contact your vendor/sales outlet....at least that is what David has said for the G4/G5....
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 2:28 PM
w2lie's Avatar
New York DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 840
Default

I'm a Unication Dealer. Did you set the tone out table for Fast Plectron, or are you using custom timing?

Is the EMS dispatch on the same frequency as the Weather Alert Tone? If not, you might want to create a second tone table for just the EMS frequency and assign it that way.

The Unication G1 does follow timing, so if your A tone is long enough to trigger, you might need to adjust your tone table accordingly. Just because your tones are Plectron standard, it doesn't mean your tone lengths are.
Fast Plectron tones are .75 x .25 sec in length for A/B tones. For long tones, the timing slips my mind.

It sounds like you are using Motorola Timing for the length of your A/B tones, they are 2x1seconds
Try changing the table to Motorola timing and let me know how that works.
__________________
My Long Island Live Scanner website: www.w2lie.net

Scanner School - A podcast dedicated to the Scanner Radio Hobby.
Subscribe on iTunes, Stitcher, or your favorite 'pod app.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 3:48 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by w2lie View Post
I'm a Unication Dealer. Did you set the tone out table for Fast Plectron, or are you using custom timing?

Is the EMS dispatch on the same frequency as the Weather Alert Tone? If not, you might want to create a second tone table for just the EMS frequency and assign it that way.

The Unication G1 does follow timing, so if your A tone is long enough to trigger, you might need to adjust your tone table accordingly. Just because your tones are Plectron standard, it doesn't mean your tone lengths are.
Fast Plectron tones are .75 x .25 sec in length for A/B tones. For long tones, the timing slips my mind.

It sounds like you are using Motorola Timing for the length of your A/B tones, they are 2x1seconds
Try changing the table to Motorola timing and let me know how that works.
Yes, Fire, EMS, and County Wide Alerts are transmitted on the frequency. I know the tone lengths aren't standard the county shortened them up back in 2007 or 8.

I do not see anything in the Tone Tables about timing, unless I'm overlooking something.

I did contact Unication Tech Support and this was the reply I received "Try changing the order of the stack of tones."

What I ended up doing was removing the long tone. There are a set of tones that are transmitted with that long tone and I placed them in instead.
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 3:49 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoWayTim View Post
Your on a scanner forum. I would call Unication support.
Its "You're"
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 4:02 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 2,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 62Truck View Post
I do not see anything in the Tone Tables about timing, unless I'm overlooking something. .
Tone timing is determined by the Tone System you select. Motorola is 1/3 for a regular QC-II pair and 8 seconds for the Long Tone.

I have a mix of tones from Motorola and Plectron charts but they all use Motorola timing. Some are A/B pairs and others are Long C. I have 20 G1's set up like this and they work just fine.
__________________
Rochester-Monroe County 911 7010 1976 to 2003
Northampton Ambulance - Car 2829
KD2IAT --- WQPG808
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 4:41 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 62Truck View Post
Its "You're"
Thank you. I am on the Samsung and Google forums right now complaining about their phone and the auto correction capabilities. The latest firmware release should know what I am trying to type.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 6:53 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 62Truck View Post
Yes, Fire, EMS, and County Wide Alerts are transmitted on the frequency. I know the tone lengths aren't standard the county shortened them up back in 2007 or 8.

I do not see anything in the Tone Tables about timing, unless I'm overlooking something.

I did contact Unication Tech Support and this was the reply I received "Try changing the order of the stack of tones."

What I ended up doing was removing the long tone. There are a set of tones that are transmitted with that long tone and I placed them in instead.
This might be a useful resource: https://www.midians.com/pdf/tone-signaling-charts.pdf
__________________
de K3SLS Steve
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 7:35 PM
w2lie's Avatar
New York DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 62Truck View Post

I do not see anything in the Tone Tables about timing, unless I'm overlooking something.
Go into PPS and click on Tab F. From there click on the tone table you are using.

You'll be presented with the screen that you can enter your tones.

At the top, you can pull down the timing.

Pick Motorola. I'm almost certain that will fix your problems.
Attached Images
 
__________________
My Long Island Live Scanner website: www.w2lie.net

Scanner School - A podcast dedicated to the Scanner Radio Hobby.
Subscribe on iTunes, Stitcher, or your favorite 'pod app.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2018, 1:38 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,380
Default

I switched it to Motorola and everything seems to be working as it should when it comes to long tone. After RTFM I noticed that the timing for Plectron long tone is 3 seconds and that is why I was getting the premature alerting. One thing I want to point out is that we are indeed using Plectron tones when it comes to tone frequency. So one thing that had to be done was I had to select Plectron first, input the tone frequencies and then change paging system from Plectron to Motorola.
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2018, 3:59 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 2,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 62Truck View Post
I switched it to Motorola and everything seems to be working as it should when it comes to long tone. After RTFM I noticed that the timing for Plectron long tone is 3 seconds and that is why I was getting the premature alerting. One thing I want to point out is that we are indeed using Plectron tones when it comes to tone frequency. So one thing that had to be done was I had to select Plectron first, input the tone frequencies and then change paging system from Plectron to Motorola.
You really don't need to set Plectron to enter the tones and then change to Motorola. If you set it to Motorola to start, and then enter your Plectron tones, the software will adjust the tones a tiny bit. My 1130/992 gets converted to 1129.7/991.3 and works just fine. These tone decoders can handle about a half % variation in frequency with no loss of proper decode.
__________________
Rochester-Monroe County 911 7010 1976 to 2003
Northampton Ambulance - Car 2829
KD2IAT --- WQPG808
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2018, 7:19 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveC0625 View Post
You really don't need to set Plectron to enter the tones and then change to Motorola. If you set it to Motorola to start, and then enter your Plectron tones, the software will adjust the tones a tiny bit. My 1130/992 gets converted to 1129.7/991.3 and works just fine. These tone decoders can handle about a half % variation in frequency with no loss of proper decode.
Thanks for the info. Good to know!
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions