RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 6:09 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 12
Default Question about G series charger

Are you supposed to be able to program the G4 or G5 in the desktop charger? I was given a used one and it charges fine but won't connect to PPS.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 6:25 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kf5zao View Post
Are you supposed to be able to program the G4 or G5 in the desktop charger? I was given a used one and it charges fine but won't connect to PPS.
Programming is a USB port only affair.
__________________
de K3SLS Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 8:04 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 12
Default

Ok, I was just curious because I saw this pinout from a post earlier today.

https://forums.radioreference.com/at...ut-g1-pins.jpg

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 8:57 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kf5zao View Post
Ok, I was just curious because I saw this pinout from a post earlier today.

https://forums.radioreference.com/at...ut-g1-pins.jpg

Thanks
Yeah, an inexplicable omission by Unication.
__________________
de K3SLS Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 9:02 PM
Unication Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3sls View Post
Yeah, an inexplicable omission by Unication.
That is a G1. No USB port. G1 needs a separate programming cradle.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 9:06 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uni1 View Post
That is a G1. No USB port. G1 needs a separate programming cradle.
True, but it has been inferred in the past that the pinouts for the G4/5 match the G1. Not correct?
__________________
de K3SLS Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions