RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Owner Tech Support

Uniden Owner Tech Support For current owners to get support with their scanners from existing or past owners. If you do not own or have model experience please restrict yourself to the other sub-forums.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2014, 11:44 PM

Question Uniden HomePatrol "Range issues"

Hello RR.I'm a newbie at this Uniden Product called the Homepatrol-1 with upgrades. Is there a way to extend the range setting to 50 miles or more for the Uniden HomePatrol-1 Extreme? Because am having a difficult time trying to receive the Palmetto (Project 25) towers that are 40+ miles away to pick up the signal my location is Cross,SC trying to receive signals in Goose Creek,SC,Charleston,SC which are 40+ miles from my location.Also any tips for pre amps,coax cable,and antenna type for my area?
Sponsored links
Old 06-11-2014, 11:58 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber

You can try changing your location in the scanner to indicate that you're closer to Palmetto towers than you actually are, so the scanner will open up that system. Now for actually receiving anything, that totally depends on a lot of things. You might get a roof antenna, I'm sure that'll help reception considerably. As far as I know, the distance setting on the HP-1 is maxed out at 30 miles, but that is not absolute... it'll open up a lot more agencies on the scanner to be "received" IF you're with in receiving distance.
Old 06-12-2014, 10:14 PM

i am having problems getting any P25 chatter in .. 2 towns near me are P25 and i get zero on them even when I am in that town ... I have newest updates and programing.. everything set correctly .. i assume...